15 overseas players for Afghanistan T20 League

Guladeen Naib has emerged the most expensive player in the Afghanistan’s Shpageeza Cricket League. Afghanistan all-rounder has earned an approximate Rs 70 lakh bid price at the fourth edition of the franchisee-based Afghan T-20 league.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board held the player auction at a hotel in central Kabul on Thursday night with a number of players, including some prominent names from the international circuit, going under the hammer.

Afghanistan plays their home matches at the Greater Noida cricket stadium, but the league games will be played at Kabul International Cricket Stadium from July 18 to 28. ACB is aiming to popularize the sport in the country. The six-team tournament will feature players from Pakistan, Bangladesh, West Indies and Zimbabwe, apart from the top Afghan cricketers.

Afghan Cricket League

The tournament has the International Cricket Council approval.

The six teams – Band-e-Amir Dragons, Mis-e-Ainak Knights, Kabul Eagles, Speenghar Tigers, Amo Sharks and Bost Defenders – are owned by leading Afghan business groups, who bid for the sides at the team auction held in Kabul last week. The Paragon Group, a logistics and supply services company, broke records by buying Band-e-Amir, the side to be led by Rashid Khan, for a whopping US$ 150,000 (Rs 1 crore).

Gulbadeen Naib, the Afghanistan allrounder, was the most expensive buy in the auction, with Bost Defenders notching him up for US$ 108,460 (Rs 70 lakh approx). Naib was closely followed by the Pakistani pace duo of Sohail Tanvir (Band-e-Amir) and Rumman Raees (Bost), both of whom earned contracts worth US$ 105,519 (Rs 69 lakh approx).

In 2016, seven foreign players – Kamran Akmal, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Sami, Salman Butt and Khalid Latif from Pakistan and Zimbabwe’s Raza – had taken part in the tournament with the match venue converted into high-security zone.

This year, the ten-day competition will have two games being played each day. Local broadcast network One TV will show the games live within the country.

Two Afghan cricketers in the Indian Premier League 2017. Both will also be playing in the Caribbean Premier League.