BAN beat NZ: Mahmudullah plays skipper’s knock as Bangladesh wins maiden T20I series against New Zealand

BAN beat NZ: Mahmudullah plays skipper’s knock as Bangladesh wins maiden T20I series against New Zealand
BAN beat NZ: Mahmudullah plays skipper’s knock as Bangladesh wins maiden T20I series against New Zealand

BAN beat NZ: Mahmudullah plays skipper’s knock as Bangladesh wins maiden T20I series against New Zealand: Skipper Mahmudullah guided his side to 6 wickets win over New Zealand in the fourth T20I and also sealed Bangladesh’s maiden T20I bilateral series win over New Zealand on Wednesday in Dhaka.

Chasing a low total of 94 runs, the home side had a shaky start as they were reduced to 32/3 within the powerplay, courtesy of Azaz Patel’s double strike in an over which included the prized scalp of Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim. However, Mahmudullah’s gritty unbeaten 43 off 48 balls along with M Naim’s 29 off 35 helped Bangladesh cross the line with 6 wickets in hand and five balls to spare.

Earlier, New Zealand captain Tom Latham’s decision to bat first after winning the toss backfired as their entire unit was bundled for just 93 runs. Will Young (46 off 48 balls) turned out to be the top scorer while the entire unit tumbled.

Spinner Nasum Ahmed and fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman were the picks of bowlers for the home side as both claimed four wickets each. Nasum picked up a career-best 4-10 while Mustafizur finished with 4-12.

“It feels great to win the series and I feel really happy. My skipper told me to back my strengths, dry the runs and that’s what I did. There was turn in the pitch, so I didn’t worry about variations, just stuck to the basics,” said Nasum Ahmed – player of the match as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Bangladesh leads the five-match series 3-1 with a game to spare. The hosts won the first two matches while New Zealand took Sunday’s third game. The fifth and final T20I of the series will be played on Friday, September 10 at the same venue.

BAN vs NZ 4th T20I, Live Score: Bangladesh won by 6 wickets
Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Naim Sheikh runout (Tom Latham / DAJ Bracewell) 29 35 1 1 82.86
Liton Das c FH Allen b CE McConchie 6 11 1 0 54.55
Shakib Al Hasan st Tom Latham b AY Patel 8 8 1 0 100.00
Mushfiqur Rahim b AY Patel 0 3 0 0 0.00
Mahmudullah (C) Not out 43 48 1 2 89.58
Afif Hossain Not out 6 10 0 0 60.00
Extra 4 (b 0, w 2, nb 0, lb 2)
Total 96/4 (19.1)
Yet To Bat Nurul HasanMahedi HasanM SaifuddinMustafizur RahmanNasum Ahmed
Hamish Bennett 3 0 17 0 5.67
Ajaz Patel 4 0 9 2 2.25
Cole McConchie 3.1 0 34 1 10.74
Rachin Ravindra 4 0 8 0 2.00
Colin de Grandhomme 3 0 13 0 4.33
Blair Tickner 2 0 13 0 6.50
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Liton Das 1-8 2.2
Shakib Al Hasan 2-32 5.3
Mushfiqur Rahim 3-32 5.6
N Sheikh 4-67 14.3
Over 16: Five runs off the over. Bangladesh 74/4 after sixteen overs. Need 20 off 24!
Over 15: Wicket! Naim departs too! New Zealand bounces back as the match is evenly poised at the moment. BAN 69/4 after fifteen overs
Over 12: Twelve runs off the over with a six in it. Bangladesh needed this badly. BAN 60/3 after twelve overs
Over 10: Five runs off the over. Bangladesh 44/3 at halfway mark!
Over 8: Just four runs off the over. Bangladesh 38/3


Over 6: Wicket! Azaz Patel strikes twice! Bangladesh loses two wickets in an over as Shakib Al Hasan and M Rahim depart in succession. The hosts are in trouble now!

Over 3: That’s OUT! Cole McConchie strikes for the visitors. Liton Das departs, Bangladesh loses their first wicket.

Liton Das and Naim Sheikh will begin the run chase!

Hamish Bennett will open the attack

Innings Break!

BAN vs NZ 4th T20I, Live Score: New Zealand Innings 93/10 (19.3 ov)

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Rachin Ravindra c M Saifuddin b Nasum Ahmed 0 5 0 0 0.00
Finn Allen c M Saifuddin b Nasum Ahmed 12 8 0 1 150.00
Tom Latham (WK/C) st Nurul Hasan b Mahedi Hasan 21 26 1 0 80.77
Will Young c Mahmudullah b Mustafizur Rahman 46 48 5 1 95.83
Henry Nicholls b Nasum Ahmed 1 5 0 0 20.00
Colin de Grandhomme c Nurul Hasan b Nasum Ahmed 0 1 0 0 0.00
Tom Blundell c N Sheikh b Mustafizur Rahman 4 10 0 0 40.00
Cole McConchie c & b Mustafizur Rahman 0 3 0 0 0.00
Ajaz Patel b M Saifuddin 4 8 0 0 50.00
Blair Tickner c Mahedi Hasan b Mustafizur Rahman 2 3 0 0 66.67
Hamish Bennett Not out 0 0 0 0 0.00
Extra 3 (b 0, w 1, nb 0, lb 2)
Total 93/10 (19.3)
Yet To Bat
Nasum Ahmed 4 2 10 4 2.50
Shakib Al Hasan 4 0 25 0 6.25
Mahedi Hasan 4 0 21 1 5.25
Mustafizur Rahman 3.3 0 12 4 3.43
Mohammad Saifuddin 3 0 16 1 5.33
Mahmudullah 1 0 7 0 7.00
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
R Ravindra 1-0 0.5
FH Allen 2-16 2.4
Tom Latham 3-51 10.3
HM Nicholls 4-52 11.2
C Grandhomme 5-52 11.3
TA Blundell 6-72 15.2
CE McConchie 7-74 15.6
AY Patel 8-91 18.5
WA Young 9-93 19.2
BM Tickner 10-93 19.3


Over 8: Five singles from the over. New Zealand slowly recovering from the double blow at the start.

Over 6: Just three runs off the over. NZ 22/2 at the end of the powerplay.

Over 3: Wicket! Nasum Ahmed strikes again. Finn Allen departs for 12. New Zealand loses both the openers. NZ 16/2 after three overs.

Over 1: That’s out! Nasum Ahmed strikes in the first over. Rachin Ravindra out for a duck!

Rachin Ravindra and Finn Allen will open the innings for New Zealand.

Nasum Ahmed will open the attack

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young, Tom Latham(w/c), Colin de Grandhomme, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell, Cole McConchie, Ajaz Patel, Blair Tickner, Hamish Bennett

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah(c), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan(w), Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed


Weather Update 

BAN vs NZ 4th T20I – Preview 

Riding on the spirited performance of Ajaz Patel New Zealand managed to claim their first win of the series by defeating Bangladesh by 52 runs in the third T20I of the five-match series. Bangladesh outperformed New Zealand in the first two matches of the series where they thrashed Blackcaps by 7 wickets in the first game followed by a thrilling contest where The Tigers triumph by 4 runs. Now with series on the line, Tom Latham’s side will look to continue their momentum from the last game and level the series while Mahmudullah’s side will aim to clinch the series in the fourth T20I. 

Bangladesh vs New Zealand

Also Read: NZ beat BAN: New Zealand secures 52 runs win over Bangladesh as Azaz Patel picks four in the 3rd T20I

Match Details 

4th T20I, BAN vs NZ

Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

3:30 PM IST

Weather Report

There is a high chance of rain playing spoilsport in the fourth T20I. The weather will be overcast throughout the day with an average temperature of 31 degrees celsius. 

Also Read: BAN beat NZ: Bangladesh beat New Zealand by 4 runs in a thriller; take 2-0 lead in the series

BAN vs NZ: Pitch Report

As expected the pitch at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka will be slow and thus will be spinner friendly. Batsmen will continue to struggle against spinners on this pitch. The ball will not turn a lot but will come slow on the bat. 

BAN vs NZ: Probable Playing XIs


Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed

New Zealand

Rachin Ravindra, Tom Blundell, Will Young, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham (c & wk), Henry Nicholls, Cole McConchie, Doug Bracewell, Ajaz Patel, Hamish Bennett, Ben Sears

Also Read: IPL 2022 New Teams: BCCI shortlists six cities for two new franchises for IPL 2022, emphasis on Hindi-speaking regions

BAN vs NZ: Players to watch out for 


Mustafizur Rahman

Shakib Al Hasan

Mohammad Naim


New Zealand

Tom Latham

Rachin Ravindra

Henry Nicholls

Ajaz Patel

BAN vs NZ: Live streaming of BAN vs NZ T20I in India?

The match will not be shown on TV for the cricket audience in India. Fans can catch the BAN vs NZ T20I LIVE Streaming on the FanCode app.