BCCI bans Smith, Warner from IPL 2018

BCCI bans Steve Smith and David Warner from IPL 2018 - InsideSport

The Board of Control for Cricket in India will not allow the banned Australian cricketers, Steve Smith and David Warner, to participate in the Indian Premier League.

Cricket Australia has served 12-month bans on Smith and Warner in the wake of their roles in the pre-planned ball tampering during the third day of the Cape Town Test against hosts South Africa. This automatically puts the tainted Australian cricketers out of the forthcoming Indian Premier League.

The BCCI in a communique has confirmed that Smith and Warner have been banned from the IPL 2018.

The Hon’ble Supreme Court of India appointed Committee of Administrators on Wednesday took cognizance of the developments in the ball tampering incident involving Cricket Australia contracted cricketers – Mr. Steve Smith, Mr. David Warner, and Mr. Cameron Bancroft.

The CoA, in consultation with BCCI Acting President Mr. CK Khanna, IPL Chairman Mr. Rajeev Shukla and BCCI Acting Hon. Secretary Mr. Amitabh Choudhary, has decided to ban Mr. Smith and Mr. Warner with immediate effect from participation in IPL 2018, BCCI has stated in the communique.

The BCCI hopes that the cricketers participating in the IPL hold the highest regard for the Spirit of Cricket and Code of Conduct for Players and Match Officials.

The concerned IPL franchisees (Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad) will be allowed replacement players, BCCI confirmed.

The BCCI, much before the news about the Cricket Australia’s ban on the axed captain Smith and his deputy Warner came in, had made it clear that the duo involved in the ball-tampering controversy would not be allowed in the IPL if they were banned by their national cricket board.

Smith and Warner were retained by Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad respective and subsequently named to lead the teams in the teams in the forthcoming IPL season.

However, the duo subsequently had relinquished their respective positions as the RR and SRH captains. Rajasthan Royals had named Ajinkya Rahane to lead the side. Shikhar Dhawan is expected to be named the Sunrisers Hyderabad captain.