BCCI pays INR 1,295 crore to State associations in Financial Year 2016-17

BCCI pays INR 1,295 crore to State associations in Financial Year 2016-17

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has disbursed INR 1,295.09 crore among its affiliated State associations for the Financial Year 2016-17. The latest list, released by the BCCI, reveals that the Indian cricket board has transferred a total of INR 4,557.65 crore to the State associations over the five years between FY 2012-13 and 2016-17. Eleven out of the 37 recipient States have received the payment in access of INR 200 crore over the last five years.

To put things in perspective, the Indian cricketers collectively have earned INR 256.22 crore in salaries from the Indian Premier League 2017 season, and collectively bagged INR 1,249.42 crore for the five-year period between 2013-2017.

Maharashtra Cricket Association tops the bill with INR 259.74 crore (net of TDS) in the five year period. The others to gain over INR 200 crore are the Karnataka Cricket Association (INR 251.93 cr), Mumbai (INR 223.33 cr), Himachal Pradesh (INR 222.33 cr), Vidarbha (INR 226.35), Punjab (INR 218.88 cr), Tamil Nadu (INR 216.76 cr), Bengal (212.45 cr), Saurashtra (INR 209.43), Andhra (INR 208.87) and Kerala (INR 201.92 cr).

Vidarbha (INR 98.08 cr) and Himachal Pradesh (INR 88.66 cr) are the top recipients for the Financial Year 2016-17.

Jammu & Kashmir, faced with a CBI inquiry for misappropriation of funds, has got the least (INR 14.06 cr in five years) among the State Cricket Associations.

Among the affiliated States, Assam (INR 16.88 cr) has received the maximum funding in the financial year 2016-17, while Arunachal Cricket Association, Association of Indian Universities, Bihar Cricket Association, Manipur Cricket Association and National Cricket Club have drawn a blank; while the Cricket Club of India, Nagaland Cricket Association and the Sikkim Cricket Association are all paid a mere INR 1 lakh.

CLICK HERE for the full list of payments to the BCCI’s State associations from the financial year 2012-13 to 2016-17.