BWF World Tour Final Day 3 Result: Sindhu wins, Srikanth loses as India’s campaign comes to an end

BWF World Tour Final Day 3 Result: Sindhu wins, Srikanth loses as India’s campaign comes to an end- India finished its campaign at the World Tour finals as both shuttlers- PV Sindhu & Kidambi Srikanth played their final game today.

Ace India shuttler PV Sindhu returned to form in her final clash of the World Tour Finals as she outclassed Thailand’s Chochuwong Pornpawee here on Friday. But it was too late in the day as she cannot progress in the tournament after losing her first two matches.

Having faced two successive defeats in the tournament, Sindhu won the third match 21-18, 21-13 in 42 minutes. In the first game, the Olympic silver medallist faced a tough fight from the local player as both the players sweat it out for each point, but it was Sindhu who had the upper hand in the game.

Sindhu didn’t give any margin to her opponent in the second game and won the match in straight games (21-18, 21-15).

Standings of WS – Group B
Points Played Matches Games Points
1 ThailandPornpawee CHOCHUWONG 2 3 2 1 4 3 132 120
2 Chinese TaipeiTzu Ying TAI 2 3 2 1 4 4 154 138
3 ThailandRatchanok INTANON 1 3 1 2 4 4 138 153
4 IndiaV. Sindhu PUSARLA 1 3 1 2 3 4 123 136


BWF World Tour Finals — Kidambi Srikanth’s poor show continues

India shuttler Kidambi Srikanth bowed out of the ongoing BWF World Tour Finals after losing his third match of the tournament to Hong Kong’s Angus Ng Ka Long on Friday.

Angus defeated Srikanth 21-12, 18-21, 19-21 in the thrilling match which lasted for 65 minutes. The Indian shuttler scummed to the defeat in a similar fashion as he did in his first two games. Srikanth won the opening set but lost the last two in a draining three-game tie to bow out of the tournament. In the first set, Srikanth registered a comfortable win over Angus but the Indian shuttler lost the last two sets despite fighting hard and taking the game down to the wire.

In the second game, Wang dominated the proceeding and bagged the set (9-21) quite comfortably. The Taiwanese badminton player maintained dominance in the game and took a three-point lead in the decider and eventually sealed the match.

In his first encounter of World Tour Finals earlier this week, Srikanth had a similar outing as he was defeated by Denmark’s Anders Antonsen.

The entire match lasted for one hour and 17 minutes. Srikanth came out all guns blazing in the first game and he did not give his opponent any chance, wrapping up the game 21-15 inside 22 minutes.

In the second game, Antonsen managed to change his fortunes around. With the winning momentum on his side, Antonsen capitalised in the third game and he walked away with a victory in the match.

Standings of MS – Group B
Points Played Matches Games Points
1 Chinese TaipeiTzu Wei WANG 3 3 3 0 6 1 145 103
2 DenmarkAnders ANTONSEN 2 3 2 1 4 3 129 132
3 Hong Kong ChinaKa Long Angus NG 1 3 1 2 2 5 113 142
4 IndiaSrikanth KIDAMBI 0 3 0 3 3 6 162 172

Standings of MS – Group B

Order of play of Friday, January 29, 2021
Time Draw Score Duration
Impact Arena – 1
1. Starting at 11:00 AM MD – Group B
Vladimir IVANOV Russia
Ivan SOZONOV Russia
Korea CHOI Solgyu
Korea SEO Seung Jae
2. Followed by WD – Group B
Jongkolphan KITITHARAKUL Thailand
Rawinda PRAJONGJAI Thailand
Germany Linda EFLER
Germany Isabel HERTTRICH
3. Followed by WD – Group A
Greysia POLII [1] Indonesia
Apriyani RAHAYU Indonesia
Malaysia CHOW Mei Kuan
Malaysia LEE Meng Yean
4. Followed by MD – Group B
Aaron CHIA [2] Malaysia
SOH Wooi Yik Malaysia
Indonesia Mohammad AHSAN [3]
Indonesia Hendra SETIAWAN
5. Followed by WS – Group A
Carolina MARIN [1] Spain
Korea AN Se Young [4]
6. Followed by WS – Group B
Pornpawee CHOCHUWONG Thailand
India PUSARLA V. Sindhu
7. Followed by MS – Group B
Anders ANTONSEN [2] Denmark
Chinese Taipei WANG Tzu Wei [4]
8. Followed by WS – Group B
TAI Tzu Ying [2] Chinese Taipei
Thailand Ratchanok INTANON [3]
9. Followed by MS – Group A
Viktor AXELSEN [1] Denmark
Chinese Taipei CHOU Tien Chen [3]
10. Followed by XD – Group A
Marcus ELLIS [1] England
Lauren SMITH England
Thailand Dechapol PUAVARANUKROH [3]
Thailand Sapsiree TAERATTANACHAI
Impact Arena – 2
1. Starting at 11:00 AM WD – Group A
LEE So Hee [3] Korea
SHIN Seung Chan Korea
Malaysia Vivian HOO
Malaysia YAP Cheng Wen
2. Followed by WD – Group B
KIM So Yeong [2] Korea
KONG Hee Yong Korea
England Chloe BIRCH [4]
England Lauren SMITH
3. Followed by MD – Group A
LEE Yang [1] Chinese Taipei
WANG Chi-Lin Chinese Taipei
England Marcus ELLIS
England Chris LANGRIDGE
4. Followed by MS – Group B
NG Ka Long Angus Hong Kong China
India KIDAMBI Srikanth
5. Followed by MD – Group A
ONG Yew Sin [4] Malaysia
TEO Ee Yi Malaysia
England Ben LANE
England Sean VENDY
6. Followed by MS – Group A
LEE Zii Jia Malaysia
Indonesia Anthony Sinisuka GINTING
7. Followed by XD – Group B
Hafiz FAIZAL Indonesia
Gloria Emanuelle WIDJAJA Indonesia
Malaysia GOH Soon Huat
Malaysia LAI Shevon Jemie
8. Followed by WS – Group A
Michelle LI Canada
Russia Evgeniya KOSETSKAYA
9. Followed by XD – Group A
Praveen JORDAN Indonesia
Melati Daeva OKTAVIANTI Indonesia
Korea SEO Seung Jae
Korea CHAE Yujung
10. Followed by XD – Group B
Mark LAMSFUSS [2] Germany
Isabel HERTTRICH Germany
France Thom GICQUEL [4]
France Delphine DELRUE


Catch LIVE Streaming on Star Sports 2