Carmelo Anthony becomes 10th in All Time NBA Scoring
Saturday, September 25, 2021
Carmelo Anthony surpasses Elvin Hayes to into the 10th Place in All...

Carmelo Anthony surpasses Elvin Hayes to into the 10th Place in All Time in NBA scoring

NBA: Carmelo Anthony is now a top-10 all-time NBA scorer. The forward passed Elvin Hayes after he made a 3-pointer in the second quarter against the Atlanta Hawks.

A former 10-time All-Star, Anthony never came off the bench in his first 15 NBA seasons. He put down even the idea of it at the end of 2017-18 when he was with Oklahoma City. “I’m not sacrificing no bench role,” he said as the Thunder’s season ended.

The next season in Houston, Carmelo Anthony came off the bench 8 times in 10 games before being taken out of the rotation. Anthony started all 58 games he played after joining the Trail Blazers last season, but at 36, faced the bench issue again this season. “I had to swallow that pill,” Carmelo Anthony said.

A 10-time All-Star, Carmelo Anthony is in his 18th NBA season. He won the scoring title with the New York Knicks in 2012-13, averaging 28.7 points. Anthony spent 10 consecutive seasons in the top 10 in scoring and finished as a runner-up for the scoring title twice in that stretch.

I think after it’s done, whenever it happens, I think I’ll be more in awe of it,” Anthony told ESPN by phone last week. “This is something I never, ever thought about. When you’re young you look up at that list and you’re like, ‘Damn, so-and-so has that many points? I’ll never be able to do that.'” I’m more just in awe of it.

Carmelo Anthony passes Hakeem Olajuwon on NBA all-time scoring list

This season, Carmelo Anthony has moved past Tim Duncan, Dominique Wilkins, Oscar Robertson, and Hakeem Olajuwon in scoring.

Moses Malone is next up on the all-time list at 27,409, a reachable number this season if Anthony maintains his current scoring pace.

5 former NBA All-Stars who have Revived their Careers on the Bench

Top 11 Scorers – NBA History (entering Monday, May 3, 2021)

1 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar 1,560 38,387 24.61 59.2
2 Karl Malone 1,476 36,928 25.02 57.7
3 LeBron James 1,307 35,299 27.01 58.7
4 Kobe Bryant 1,346 33,643 24.99 55.0
5 Michael Jordan 1,072 32,292 30.12 56.9
6 Dirk Nowitzki 1,522 31,560 20.74 57.7
7 Wilt Chamberlain 1,045 31,419 30.07 54.7
8 Shaquille O’Neal 1,207 28,596 23.69 58.6
9 Moses Malone 1,329 27,409 20.62 56.9
10 Elvin Hayes 1,303 27,313 20.96 49.1
11 Carmelo Anthony 1,185 27,304 23.04 54.2