Kohli bags record fifth Ceat International Cricketer of the Year award

Ceat International Cricketer of the Year,Ceat International Cricketer of the Year Award,Ceat Cricketer of the Year,Ceat Cricketer of the Year award,Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli has bagged a record fifth Ceat International Cricketer of the Year Award, which is also the third consecutive honour for Team India skipper who has also received the coveted prize for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 season.

Ceat celebrated the success and glory of international cricket with ‘Ceat Cricket Rating International awards 2019 at a ceremony in Mumbai. The awards honoured the best of the International cricketers based on their performances as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2018-2019.

Harsh Goenka, Chairman, RPG Group said, “2018-2019 has seen some scintillating cricket being played across the world with outstanding individual performances. Ceat Cricket Rating Awards felicitates these heroes who have not only entertained the audience worldwide but have also made their respective teams proud. Congratulations to all the winners and I wish the Indian Cricket team the best for the upcoming World Cup.”

The awards honor cricketers based on their performances in international and domestic cricketing in all formats, i.e. Test, ODI and T20, as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2018 – 2019.

Also Read: Trump awards highest US civilian honour to Woods

Creative Heads shortlist Star Re.Imagine Awards 2019 nominations

Besides skipper Kohli new ball sensation Jasprit Bumrah was recognised as the CEAT International Bowler of the Year. CEAT awarded Rashid Khan for outstanding bowling and Aaron Finch for his exceptional performance in T20. Rewarding and encouraging younger talent, India’s Yashasvi Jaiswal who performed exceptionally over the year was awarded as Junior Cricketer of the Year. Kuldeep Yadav took home the outstanding performance of the year award while Ashutosh Aman was awarded as Domestic Cricketer of the Year.

It was also a day to honor the stalwarts of the yesteryears who have carved a name for themselves as legends of Cricket. Cricketing legend Mohinder Amarnath was awarded the ‘CCR International Lifetime Achievement Award’ for his outstanding contribution to Indian cricket. Speaking on the occasion cricket legend and the chief adjudicator of the CEAT Cricket Rating, Mr. Sunil Gavaskar said, “Ceat International Cricket Awards, now in its 24th year is one of the most coveted awards in the cricketing world. Exceptional performances by the players in the year 2018-2019 are honoured with significant awards. With the upcoming Cricket World Cup to be played in England and Wales, winning the Ceat International Cricket Award gives a boost to the winners and inspires future players.”

The Ceat Cricket Ratings International Awards winners for 2018-19:

  • CEAT International Cricketer and Batsman of the Year – Virat Kohli
  • CEAT International Bowler of the Year – Jasprit Bumrah
  • CEAT International Test Cricketer of the Year – Cheteshwar Pujara
  • CEAT International ODI Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma
  • CEAT International T20 Player of the Year – Aaron Finch
  • CEAT Outstanding Performance of the Year- Kuldeep Yadav
  • CEAT International T20 Bowler of the Year- Rashid Khan
  • CEAT Lifetime Achievement Award – Mohinder Amarnath
  • CEAT Domestic Player of the Year- Ashutosh Aman
  • CEAT International Woman Cricketer of the Year- Smriti Mandana
  • CEAT Junior Cricketer of the Year- Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • CEAT Cricket Journalists of the Year Cricket- Sriram Veera & Snehal Pradhan

About The Ceat Cricket Ratings Awards: 

The CEAT Cricket Rating was the first rating system in international cricket to recognize and reward outstanding performers in cricket on an annual basis. Conceived in 1995 by CEAT, the CEAT Cricket Rating attempted to answer every cricket-lover’s persistent and perennial query – “Who is the best of the best?”

The CEAT Cricket Rating stands out by virtue of its simplicity. It comprises an objective points system that awards points to cricketers for their batting, bowling and on-field performances.

The cricketer that accumulates the highest number of points in their respective categories at the end of the period are declared the CEAT Cricket Rating International Cricketer.

The past winners of the CEAT Cricket Rating have been:

Year Cricketer of the Year
1995-96 Brian Lara
1996-97 Venkatesh Prasad
1997-98 Sanath Jayasuriya
1998-99 Jacques Kallis
1999-00 Sourav Ganguly
2000-01 Muttiah Muralitharan
2001-02 Muttiah Muralitharan
2002-03 Ricky Ponting
2003-04 Brian Lara
2004-05 Jacques Kallis
2005-06 Ricky Ponting
2006-07 Muthiah Muralitharan
2007-08 Mahela Jayawardene
2008-09 Gautam Gambhir
2009-10 Shane Watson
2010-11 Jonathon Trott
2011-12 Virat Kohli
2013-14 Virat Kohli
2014-15 Kumar Sangakkara
2015-16 Joe Root
2016-17 Virat Kohli
2017-18 Virat Kohli

The CEAT CRICKET RATINGS are overseen by cricketing legend Sunil Gavaskar, who is the adjudicator for the ratings.

Also Read: BFI nominates Amit Panghal, Gaurav Bidhuri for Arjuna award again

Neeraj Chopra nominated for Khel Ratna; Toor, Arpinder for Arjuna Award

Trump to award Presidential Medal of Freedom to Tiger Woods

Mobile Premier League launches campaign with Virat Kohli