CPL 2021 LIVE – SNP vs BR LIVE: Dwayne Bravo, Rutherford star as Patriots clinch convincing 21-run win over Jason Holder’s Barbados Royals

CPL 2021- SKN vs SLK LIVE: Patriots vs Kings– preview, live stream details, predicted XIs, all you need to know
CPL 2021- SKN vs SLK LIVE: Patriots vs Kings– preview, live stream details, predicted XIs, all you need to know

CPL 2021 LIVE – SNP vs BR LIVE: Dwayne Bravo, Rutherford star as Patriots clinch convincing 21-run win over Jason Holder’s Barbados Royals – Dwayne Bravo led from the front on his Patriots captaincy debut as the Saint Kitts and Nevis Patriots clinched a convincing 21-run win over the Barbados Royals on Friday. Put into bat, the Patriots were reduced to 39/4, before Bravo combined with Sherfane Rutherford for a century partnership to guide his team to a competitive 175. In response, the Royals chase never got going as they fell well short of the target to concede defeat

Also Read: CPL 2021 GUY vs TKR: Shimron Hetmyer shines as Guyana Amazon…

CPL 2021 LIVE – SNP vs BR LIVE: Dwayne Bravo, Rutherford star as Patriots clinch convincing 21-run win over Jason Holder’s Barbados Royals

Oshane Thomas bowled a fiery spell at the start of the innings as the Patriots lost four wickets in their first eight overs, struggling to score at run-a-ball. Sherfane Rutherford and Dwayne Bravo then combined to put on a memorable century partnership, rescuing last year’s finalists from their ruins to steer them to a comfortable total. Rutherford top-scored with a fine 53, while Bravo remained unbeaten on 47. Fabian Allen also played a breezy cameo at the end, scoring 19 off just seven deliveries to give Patriots the much-needed cushion.

In response, the Royals got off to a quick start but the wickets of Johnson Charles and Glenn Philips meant that they had to advise caution as they went about their business. The Patriots seized the opportunity and kept the run-rate in check to pile on the pressure. The plan worked to a T as Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers soon departed trying to get a move on in the run-chase.

Shai Hope and Azam Khan did put up an encourgaing effort, but the duo couldn’t see the Barbados Royals over the finish line. Hope was dismissed for 44, while Azam Khan was run out after a quick-fire 28. Dominic Drakes was the pick of the Patriots bowlers, finishing with figures of 2/13 in his four overs.

Barbados Royals – 154/7 (20 ov)

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Glenn Phillips c Devon Thomas b Sheldon Cottrell 5 6 0 0 83.33
Johnson Charles runout (Devon Thomas / Asif Ali) 12 5 3 0 240.00
Shai Hope (WK) c Fabian Allen b Sheldon Cottrell 44 38 4 1 115.79
Jason Holder (C) c Sherfane Rutherford b DC Drakes 10 14 2 0 71.43
Kyle Mayers c Asif Ali b Fabian Allen 9 16 0 0 56.25
Azam Khan runout (Devon Thomas) 28 16 0 3 175.00
Thisara Perera c DJ Bravo b DC Drakes 3 6 0 0 50.00
Ashley Nurse Not out 8 11 1 0 72.73
Hayden Walsh Not out 16 9 0 2 177.78
Extra 19 (b 9, w 9, nb 1, lb 0)
Total 154/7 (20)
Yet To Bat Mohammad AmirOshane Thomas
Sheldon Cottrell 4 1 39 2 9.75
Paul van Meekeren 3 0 25 0 8.33
Dominic Drakes 4 0 13 2 3.25
Fawad Ahmed 3 0 19 0 6.33
Fabian Allen 3 0 12 1 4.00
Dwayne Bravo 3 0 37 0 12.33
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Johnson Charles 1-16 1.1
Glenn Phillips 2-27 2.2
Jason Holder 3-49 6.2
Kyle Mayers 4-67 10.4
Shai Hope 5-104 14.2
T Perera 6-117 16.1
Azam Khan 7-132 17.5


St Kitts and Nevis Patriots – 175/5 (20 ov)

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Evin Lewis c Jason Holder b Mohammad Amir 6 8 1 0 75.00
Devon Thomas (WK) lbw b Oshane Thomas 7 9 1 0 77.78
Chris Gayle b Oshane Thomas 12 9 1 1 133.33
Asif Ali c Azam Khan b Oshane Thomas 8 11 1 0 72.73
Sherfane Rutherford b Jason Holder 53 43 2 4 123.26
Dwayne Bravo (C) Not out 47 35 1 4 134.29
Fabian Allen Not out 19 7 2 1 271.43
Extra 23 (b 0, w 16, nb 2, lb 5)
Total 175/5 (20)
Yet To Bat DC DrakesSheldon CottrellPA van MeekerenFawad Ahmed
Mohammad Amir 4 0 20 1 5.00
Jason Holder 4 0 45 1 11.25
Oshane Thomas 4 0 22 3 5.50
Kyle Mayers 3 0 20 0 6.67
Hayden Walsh 2 0 25 0 12.50
Thisara Perera 3 0 38 0 12.67
Fall Of Wickets FOW Over
Evin Lewis 1-14 2.2
Devon Thomas 2-19 3.2
CH Gayle 3-38 5.4
Asif Ali 4-39 7.1
Sherfane Rutherford 5-154 18.4

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots
(Playing XI): Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Devon Thomas(w), Asif Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo(c), Dominic Drakes, Sheldon Cottrell, Paul van Meekeren, Fawad Ahmed

Barbados Royals (Playing XI): Glenn Phillips, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope(w), Kyle Mayers, Azam Khan, Jason Holder(c), Thisara Perera, Ashley Nurse, Mohammad Amir, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh

Bravo: Very excited for this new challenge. Looking forward to it. Don’t mind batting first, runs on the board is always good. These surfaces you never know what a good score is and chasing can be tricky. Need to win the key moments, be it with bat or ball.

Holder: We’re going to field first. Pitch looks a bit slow, will look to restrict them and then hopefully, chase. We want to start this game well, important to get momentum early in the competition.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (STKNP) were hit worst by the COVID-19 situation during CPL 2020, but have a near full-strength squad to choose from this time around. While the absence of South African pair of Anrich Nortje and Rassie van der Dussen and Sri Lanka legspin-bowling allrounder Wanindu Hasaranga will hurt, the Patriots have enough quality to make up for the absences and make it to the CPL 2021 playoffs. The onus will be on veterans Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle to lead the charge, while Evin Lewis, Ravi Bopara and Fawad Ahmed add more T20 expertise to their ranks.

New-look Barbados Royals (BR) will be led by Jason Holder, but the absence of Chris Morris will be a major blow to the franchise ahead of CPL 2021. His replacement Glen Philips however has been in fine form and starred in the recently concluded The Hundred. Mohammad Amir bolsters their pace attack along with Oshane Thomas, while Azam Khan could prove to be a wildcard pick considering his prowess against spin. Jake Lintott, who was the leading wicket-taker at The Hundred, will also be one to watch out for.

CPL 2021: BR vs STKNP predicted XIs

Barbados Royals: Johnson Charles (wk), Glenn Phillips, Kyle Mayers, Shai Hope, Jason Holder (capt), Azam Khan, Thisara Perera, Hayden Walsh Jr, Jake Lintott, Raymon Reiffer, Oshane Thomas

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Joshua da Silva (wk), Sherfane Rutherford, Ravi Bopara, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Rayad Emrit (capt), Fawad Ahmed, Sheldon Cottrell, Paul van Meekeren

CPL 2021: BR vs STKNP Date, time and venue

The St Kitts and Nevis Patriots vs Barbados Royals game will be played at the Warner Park in Basseterre, St Kitts. The match will begin at 4:30 AM IST on Friday, August 27.

CPL 2021: BR vs STKNP Live streaming details 

FanCode will provide a personalized and comprehensive digital sports coverage of Hero CPL to all Indian sports fans. Cricket fans across the country can watch all the nail-biting and thrilling action LIVE from the Caribbean, starting August 26, 2021, at 7.30 pm IST, on the FanCode App & follow it LIVE on InsideSport.co