Cricket Canada unveils ICC-approved T20 league

Cricket Canada unveils ICC-approved T20 league - Global T20 Canada - InsideSport

Cricket Canada has announced its official T20 league – Global T20 Canada. The league has got an official go-ahead from the International Cricket Council.

The league is likely to be played at Toronto in July. Toronto Cricket Skating and Curling Club, Sunnybrook Park, and Maple Leaf Cricket Club are the three identified venues for the league.

The league has been “conceptualised, designed, developed and managed by Mercuri Group with Cricket Canada, the official governing body for the sport in the country,” states a Press release.

“The league has also gained official sanction of the International Cricket Council (ICC),” the release added.

With this announcement, Cricket Canada becomes the first Associate member of the ICC to set in motion a Twenty20 franchise league in the lucrative North America market.

Canada Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, in the final leg of his official Indian trip, participated in a promotional cricket event at a school in the national capital on Thursday. Prime Minister Trudeau signed a bat wishing the Global T20 Canada all the luck on the sidelines of his visit to the school.

Cricket Canada has entered into a 25-year Master Licensing Agreement with Mercuri Talent Management Pvt Ltd. The agreement also covers investment in developing the grassroots for the sport in the country.

Cricket Canada president Mr. Ranjit Saini said: “Twenty20 Major League Cricket has the potential to change Canadian cricket forever. It is a great challenge and Cricket Canada is ready to deliver a resounding success.”

Founder and Group CEO of Mercuri Group, Mr. Sriram Bakthisaran stated: “We are absolutely delighted to partner with Cricket Canada to contribute directly to the success of cricket in Canada. Cricket is coming back home and we are only too delighted to play a part in it. We have a long-term vision and that also includes aiding in the development of a world-class Canadian national side. So it is not just about the league, but about the all-round development of the sport.”

Each squad for the league will consist of a minimum of four Canadian local players and overseas talent from Pakistan, West Indies, and New Zealand.