Delhi Capitals announce Gully Cricket Championship

Delhi Capitals announce Gully Cricket Championship

Delhi Capitals,JSW Sports,Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship,Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship,Gully Cricket Championship

JSW and GMR co-owned IPL franchise, Delhi Capitals have announced the launch of the inaugural season of the Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship powered by Daikin, which will take place in the city from April 15 to May 5. 

With 127 matches scheduled to be played across three weekends, Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship is expected to become one of Delhi NCR’s largest tennis ball cricket tournaments. The championship will be spread across eight Zones, and will be played at eight different venues across the capital city. A total of 96 teams will be taking part in the competition which will see more than 860 participants take the field. Each zone will have a total of 12 teams who will first compete in the Zonal Round in order to qualify for the City Finals. 

Also Read: IPL 2019: Delhi Capitals’ schedule, tickets, squad, coach: All you need to know

Speaking on the launch of the championship, Delhi Capitals CEO Dhiraj Malhotra expressed his delight, “Delhi Capitals is proud to bring back the concept of gully cricket to the streets of the city. Gully cricket is something that all cricket fans and players enjoy participating in, and with this initiative, Delhi Capitals wants to bring back the gully cricket culture to the streets of New Delhi. We are delighted to provide more than 860 players the opportunity of playing with their friends in this unique tournament called the Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship, and hope that it will be a memorable experience for the participants as well as their supporters. I would like to thank our sponsors Daikin for their continued support in helping us organize a tournament of such caliber.” 

Also Read: JSW keen on acquiring full ownership of Delhi Capitals: Report

The execution of the inaugural season of the Delhi Capitals Gully Cricket Championship is being done by India’s premier sports management company, SportzConsult. The championship will be played in two phases: Zonal Round and City Finals. In the Zonal Round scheduled to take place on 13th, 14th, 20th and 21st April 2019, each zone will have a total of 12 teams which will be divided into four groups of three teams each. Each team will play two round-robin matches, and the winner of each group, will qualify for the Semi-Finals. The two teams who win the Semi-Finals will face-off in the Final match, the winner of which will further qualify for the City Finals. 

The City Finals, to be held on 5th May 2019, will see the winners of the eight Zones face-off each other in a knockout format starting with the Quarter-Finals and culminating into the title match of the Gully Cricket Championship. 

The unique format of the Delhi Capitals’ Gully Cricket Championship will be played in a 7 overs-a side format with each team allowed to field only 7 players with 2 substitutions allowed only to replace a fielder but cannot bat or bowl. During each innings, two bowlers can bowl a maximum of two overs while only one bowler can bowl three overs. 

To make the format more appealing for the participating teams, a Power-Over has also been introduced, wherein the batting team can double the runs scored in that over. However, a dismissal in the Power-Over will see 5 runs getting deducted from the batting team’s score. 

The eight zones consist of the following areas across the city:

Zone 1 – East Delhi

Zone 2 – West Delhi

Zone 3 – North Delhi

Zone 4 – South West Delhi

Zone 5 – South East Delhi

Zone 6 – Noida

Zone 7 – Gurgaon

Zone 8 – Faridabad

Teams in Zones 1-4 will play their Zonal Round matches on 13th and 14th April 2019, while teams in Zones 5-8 will play their Zonal Round matches on 20th and 21st April 2019.

Also Read: JSW Sports to upgrade boxing, wrestling infrastructure in Haryana

Sports Tech enthusiast, he reports on Sports Tech industry and writes on sports products.
Read More