DRS Controversy in Ind vs Eng 2nd test: DRS blunder by third umpire, England’s review reinstated, what does ICC’s rule say?


Ind vs Eng- In a surprising turn out of events, England on Saturday got their review back after a DRS (Decision Review System) blunder by the third umpire. Jack Leach bowled a leg-lined delivery in the 75th over of the match that spun past Ajinka Rahane’s flick to pop up off the pad to short leg. But it’s was a flat line on UltraEdge when it went past the bat, reducing another England’s review. Also, because they went upstairs, they had to wait for the ball tracking.

The incident occurred when Rahane was batting on 66. England reviewed for a catch at short leg. After popping up off the pad, the ball brushed Rahane’s gloves. It then landed at short leg. But the third umpire didn’t bother checking that.


Former England captain Michael Vaughan was entirely pissed by the incident. “Is the third umpire pissed..!!!! He is having a stinker .. #INDvENG,” he said in a tweet post. Australia’s Glenn Maxwell also questioned the umpiring on social media. “How can an umpire not look at that,” he wrote.

What does the ICC’s rule say? 

According to rule 3.6.8 of the ICC’s playing conditions, a player’s review may be categorized as ‘unsuccessful’ can be reinstated by the ICC Match Referee. It needs to be taken at his sole discretion if the player review cannot be conducted properly due to technology failure. The decision needs to be taken as soon as possible. It should then be communicated to both the teams after all the relevant facts are covered.

The ‘unsuccessful’ review should be retained. And despite any technical failure, the correct decision should be made using other technology. Similarly, a player review may be categorized as ‘unsuccessful’ shall be retained where the technology worked as desired, but the evidence found was inconclusive.

For more sports news and results, follow us at insidesport.co