Duleep Trophy back to red ball; no broadcast till final

BCCI,Duleep Trophy,Duleep Trophy 2019,Duleep Trophy 2019 Squads,Duleep Trophy 2019 Schedule

The Indian domestic cricket season-opening Duleep Trophy, which has been India’s only day-night first-class tournament with pink ball for the last three seasons, will revert to the day-game format with red ball as there is no live television coverage of the games.

The blue-riband tournament, which will feature India’s top domestic stars, will be played from August 17 to September 9 at Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Stadium.

The BCCI has announced three teams for the Duleep Trophy 2019.

The squads are as below:

Sr.No. India Blue India Green India Red
1 Shubman Gill (C) Faiz Fazal (C) Priyank Panchal (C)
2 Ruturaj Gaikwad Akshath Reddy Abhimanyu Easwaran
3 Rajat Patidar Dhruv Shorey Axar Patel
4 Ricky Bhui Siddhesh Lad Karun Nair
5 Anmolpreet Singh Priyam Garg Ishan Kishan (WK)
6 Ankeet Bawne Akshdeep Nath Hapreet Singh Bhatia
7 Snell Patel (WK) Rahul Chahar Mahipal Lomror
8 Shreyas Gopal Dharmendrasinh Jadeja Aditya Sarwate
9 Saurabh Kumar Jayant Yadav Akshay Wakhare
10 Jalaj Saxena Ankit Rajpoot Varun Aaron
11 Tushar Deshpande Ishan Porel Ronit More
12 Basil Thampi Tanveer-Ul-Haq Jaydev Unadkat
13 Aniket Chouhdary Akshay Wadkar (WK) Sandeep Warrier
14 Diwesh Pathania Rajesh Mohanty Ankit Kalsi
15 Ashutosh Amar Milind Kumar


India’s next superstar in making Shubman Gill, India A regular Priyank Panchal and Vidarbha Ranji champion skipper Faiz Fazal will lead Blue, Red and Green teams respectively.

Also Read: BCCI names Duleep Trophy squads for 2019-20 season

BCCI invites bids for international, domestic matches sponsorship

However, the BCCI’s GM (Cricket Operations) Saba Karim confirmed that save the final from September 5-9, which will be telecast live on Star Sports, all the other matches will be traditional red-ball games like the old times.

“We have floodlights at the Chinnaswamy but we are not playing with pink ball under lights as there is no live coverage. Only the final match will be a day/night affair as that’s the only match to be aired live” Karim told PTI on Tuesday.

Asked if this will be a roadblock in moving towards pink ball Tests in future, Karim disagreed.

“I don’t think so. If everyone associated with Indian cricket is on the same page, maybe we can think of having India A first class games with pink balls. I am not saying anything is confirmed but you never know if everyone comes on same page,” Karim said.

However, a senior BCCI official said the decision to scrap pink balls save the final has been done keeping bigger picture in mind.

“The Indian team is not playing any pink ball cricket in near future. All our Test engagements are a part of World Test Championship. And we are not playing any Day/Night games in World Test Championship,” the senior official, who is privy to Indian team management’s selection policies, told PTI on condition of anonymity.

“So what’s the logic of our supply line of players playing a tournament with pink ball when they are in any case going to play red ball cricket if selected for India,” he said.

On the three Duleep squads formed, most of the current India A players along with performers from Vidarbha and other Ranji teams have got a chance.

The likes of Abhimanyu Easwaran, Anmolpreet Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Gopal, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, all of whom have played at least one format for India A in the West Indies A tour, are there.

India discards like Karun Nair and Varun Aaron are also in the mix just like last season’s highest run-scorer Milind Kumar of Sikkim or talented left-arm seamer from Rajasthan Tanveer ul Haq.

Also Read: BCCI-Ministry cold war: Issues over South Africa A tour, dope tests

BCCI receives over 2,000 applications for Team India support staff