ECB ready with its IPL-style league, host cities revealed

ECB ready with its IPL-style league, host cities revealed - InsideSport

England and Wales Cricket Board has taken another step towards its goal of setting up an IPL-styled League in England. The English Cricket Board has finalised and announced the cities for its proposed league, scheduled to be launched in 2020.

The franchisee-based league will have teams from and will be competing in London, Manchester, Leeds, Birmingham, Nottingham, Cardiff and Southampton. London will have two separate franchisees for the Lord’s and the Oval.

Ageas Bowl, Edgbaston, Headingley, Old Trafford, the Swalec Stadium and Trent Bridge are picked as other venues to host the games, English media has reported.

The proposed league will feature eight teams, playing 36 games over a 38-day summer window. Each franchisee will have a four home matches. The ECB has assured that its new high profile league, to be broadcast live with a reasonable free to air exposure, does not clash with or overlap the existing T20 competition. As in the IPL, the top four teams from the round robin league will qualify for the play-offs.

The League, being drafted on the IPL model, will have better revenue share for the teams finishing atop the table. Each franchisee will have the option to draft 15 players, including three overseas recruitments. The league will have a player draft every year.

The ECB last year has inked five-year (2020-2024) deal with the national broadcaster BBC for live coverage of the league on its FTA network. Sky Sports will be the other broadcaster.