England names 24-memeber squad for closed-door training ahead of Ireland series

England have named nine uncapped players in a 24-man training group for their three-match one-day series against Ireland in Southampton.

Paul Collingwood will be in charge for the series with head coach Chris Silverwood focusing on Test cricket.

England will play two intra-group warm-up matches before announcing their final squad for the series, which begins on 30 July.

Only eight of England’s 15-man World Cup winning squad are in the group. England’s three-Test series against Pakistan starts on 5 August, the day after the final one-day international, meaning players like Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler were not considered.

England squad for Ireland series : No place for Alex Hales once again in 24 man squad

National selector Ed Smith has backed England’s stance on Alex Hales after he was left out of a new-look 24-man training squad ahead of three one-day internationals against Ireland.

Eoin Morgan is yet to forgive Hales for almost ‘derailing’ England’s World Cup bid last summer after he was banned for failing two drugs tests.

Smith said: ‘I have nothing to add to what Eoin Morgan said about Alex. We know how good a player he is. We know where he stands. 

England training group: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Laurie Evans (Sussex), Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Sussex), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire).

The England squad, which will go into a biosecure training camp at the Ageas Bowl next Thursday ahead of the first game against Ireland on July 30, includes seven players without international experience: seamers Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Tom Helm and Richard Gleeson, plus batsmen Laurie Evans, Sam Hain and Phil Salt.