England vs Ireland ODI Series: England confirms 14-member squad for Royal London Series

England National Cricket Selectors have named a 14-strong squad with three reserves for the three-match Royal London Series against Ireland at the Ageas Bowl. Eoin Morgan will captain the side with Moeen Ali named as his vice-captain.

The Ireland series will mark a busy summer for the Three Lions as they host the neighbours after the culmination of the #raisethebat Test series against West Indies. England hosted West Indies for first bilateral cricket series after the coronavirus lockdown.

Now, England will host Ireland which will mark the first ODI series after the revival of cricket post the pandemic lockdown. The three ODIs will be played behind the closed doors in a bio-secure bubble just like the England-West Indies Test series.

The Ireland series will also be closely followed by Pakistan’s tour of England that comprises of three Tests and as many T20Is.

England’s ODI teams played two intra-squad warm up fixtures in a bid to prepare for the series against the neighbours and the squad was decided based on the player’s performances.

Members of England Test squad against West Indies will not take part in the ODIs against Ireland. The visitors have named 21 players for the series, out of which 14 will be part of the main squad while seven will be reserves. Andrew Balbirnie will captain the Ireland ODI team.

England Men’s ODI Squad

Squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton(Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Joe Denly (Kent), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire)

Reserves: Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)