England vs Ireland ODI Series: McCarthy,Rankin dropped as Ireland names 14-man squad for must-win tie

After going down in the Royal London series opener, Ireland has named a 14-member squad for their must-win second fixture against England at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, tomorrow (August 1).

Injuries to two of Ireland’s premier seamers has made room for the inclusion of Peter Chase and George Dockrell in Ireland’s squad for the second ODI. Seamers Barry McCarthy and Boyd Rankin both missing out due to injuries.

McCarthy’s involvement in the first ODI was cut short when he left the field just five balls into the opening over of England’s innings. Scans performed since have revealed a torn muscle in the back of his knee which will rule him out of both remaining fixtures.

Pacer Rankin meanwhile has been removed from the squad to manage a flare-up of a pre-existing back injury.

The series will be a part of the World Cup super league, implying that it will have more significance now. Each team will play an ODI series against eight of the twelve opponents, four series at home and four away. Each series will consist of three ODIs. For the World Cup, the hosts (India in 2023), and the top seven-ranked sides thereafter, will qualify automatically. The remaining five teams will play in a qualifying event along with five Associate sides, from which two sides will go through to the final tournament.

Defending world champions England lived up to their lofty repute after registering an emphatic win against Ireland, in the Royal London series opener in Southampton. The Eoin Morgan side secured a comprehensive six-wickets victory to eclipse Ireland, and take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The Ageas Bowl track in the first ODI was slow but still decent for batting, despite the scores not really depicting that. The new-ball bowlers, particularly Willey, found swing and subtle movement, which could be on show again. Importantly, the same track will be used for the second fixture.

Ireland, despite the loss, had glimpses of positives and will be aiming to capitalise on those to try and win the second fixture in a bid to level terms in the three-match Royal London Series, being played in Southampton.

Squad: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Paul Stirling (vc), Curtis Campher, Peter Chase, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.