ENGW vs INDW: Would Harleen Deol’s astonishing catch have been illegal a decade ago? Check why

ENGW vs INDW: Would Harleen Deol’s astonishing catch have been a flout a decade ago? Check details
ENGW vs INDW: Would Harleen Deol’s astonishing catch have been a flout a decade ago? Check details

ENGW vs INDW: Would Harleen Deol’s astonishing catch have been illegal a decade ago?: Team India’s woman debutant Harleen Deol has taken the nation to a storm courtesy of her stunning boundary catch to dismiss Amy Jones. While the astonishing catch is gathering praises from all around, analysts took a dig at how this phenomenal catch would have been illegal a decade ago owing to the cricketing rules.

In the jaw-dropping catch incident, Deol caught the ball inside the boundary and deliberately flung it into the air. Meanwhile, owing to her motion, she carried herself beyond the rope, and then took an aerial dive from outside boundary ropes to catch the ball back inside the boundary.

Deol’s catch would have otherwise invited confusion regarding the final touch with the ground had the laws not been amended in 2013.

ENGW vs INDW: Would Harleen Deol’s astonishing catch have been illegal a decade ago?

Also read: Eng W vs Ind W: Virender Sehwag says, ‘Delighted to watch fearlessness of Shafali Verma’

Law 33.2.1 states: “A catch will be fair only if, in every case either the ball, at any time or any fielder in contact with the ball, is not grounded beyond the boundary before the catch is completed.”

Also, Law 19.5.2 states: “A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary.”

Thus the modern law banishes the irrelevance that her final contact with the ground before her next contact with the ball came outside the boundary.

ENGW vs INDW: Cricket legends heaped praises for Deol’s catch

The viral catch is gathering praises from all over. In the light of the same, cricket veterans- Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman also congratulated Harleen for her unique successful catch attempt.

ENGW vs INDW: Would Harleen Deol’s astonishing catch have been illegal a decade ago?

For more sports news and ENGW vs INDW LIVE updates, follow us at insidesport.co

Advertisement