Euro 2020: Tottenham striker Steven Bergwijn amongst eight players dropped from Netherlands Euro 2020 squad

Euro 2020: Spurs striker Bergwijn is major casualty as Netherlands trim Euro 2020 squad
Euro 2020: Spurs striker Bergwijn is major casualty as Netherlands trim Euro 2020 squad

Euro 2020: Tottenham striker Bergwijn dropped from Netherlands Euro 2020 squad- Steven Bergwijn has been dropped from the 26-man Netherland squad announced on Wednesday by coach Frank de Boer. The squad for next month’s European Championship saw the axing eight players from a preliminary squad named earlier this month.

A lack of playing time at Tottenham Hotspur for 23-year-old Bergwijn over the final months of the Premier League looked to have cost him the chance of making the selection as De Boer chose instead the uncapped Cody Gakpo from PSV Eindhoven in his list of strikers.
The final squad was released by social media ahead of a news conference that De Boer was giving at 1400 GMT.

Also Read: Euro 2020: Christian Eriksen, Kasper Schmeichel to lead Denmark squad in Euro 2020

Veteran goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg, who played in the 2010 World Cup final but only recently saw league action with Ajax Amsterdam after years as a reserve at Everton, was chosen as one of the three goalkeepers, ahead of Marco Bizot of AZ Alkmaar.

At 38, Stekelenberg will be one of the oldest squad members at the tournament
Anwar El Ghazi, Hans Hateboer, Rick Karsdorp, Jeremiah St Juste, Kenny Tete and Tonny Vilhena were the other players dropped after the Netherlands completed a mini camp on Wednesday.

De Boer kept the 19-year-old Ajax Amsterdam defender Timber, who have made a strong impression in the second half of the Dutch league season but has yet to play for the national team.

Daley Blind, who suffered a serious ankle injury in March, was also included as he works his way back to full fitness.

Also Read In Hindi: UEFA चैंपियंस लीग फाइनल के टिकट 30 मिनट में बिक गए, चेल्सी बनाम मैनचेस्टर सिटी शनिवार को होगा LIVE

The squad will reassemble on Friday ahead of a week-long training camp in Portugal, where they will also play a friendly against Scotland on June 2. They will play a second warm-up international in Enschede against Georgia on June 6.

Their opening Euro 2020 Group C match is against Ukraine in Amsterdam on June 13.


Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Valencia), Tim Krul (Norwich City), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax Amsterdam)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Ajax Amsterdam), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Denzel Dumfries (PSV Eindhoven), Jurriem Timber (Ajax Amsterdam), Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Joel Veltman (Brighton & Hove Albion), Owen Wijndal (AZ Alkmaar)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Ryan Gravenberch, Davy Klaassen (both Ajax Amsterdam), Teun Koopmeiners (AZ Alkmaar), Donny van de Beek (Manchester United), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Forwards: Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Luuk de Jong (Sevilla), Memphis Depay (Olympique Lyonnais), Cody Gakpo, Donyell Malen (both PSV Eindhoven), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Wout Weghorst (Wolfsburg).