F1 Belgian Grand Prix Result : Lewis Hamilton wins once again, Bottas finish 2nd

Lewis Hamilton put in yet another dominant performance to secure the 89th win of his F1 career at Sunday’s Belgian Grand Prix. The Mercedes driver led from pole to finish ahead of team-mate Valtteri Bottas and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen at Circuit de Spa Francorchamps.

Renault enjoyed their best race of 2020 with Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon coming home in fourth and fifth respectively in the Ardennes Forest.


Ferrari, though, will look back on a Grand Prix to forget after Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc were left marooned in the midfield by their off-the-pace SF1000.
Credit goes to Pierre Gasly and Sergio Perez of AlphaTauri and Racing Point respectively, while McLaren’s Lando Norris put in yet another quietly assured performance.

F1 Belgian Grand Prix Result :Top 10 Finishes

  1. Hamilton
  2. Bottas
  3. Verstappen
  4. Ricciardo
  5. Albon
  6. Ocon
  7. Norris
  8. Stroll
  9. Gasly
  10. Perez
The victory opens up his championship lead over Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, who finished third, to 47 points, and reinforces the impression that he will waltz away to a record-equalling seven title.

The biggest drama unfolded on the 10th lap when Alfa Romeo’s Antonio Giovinazzi lost control at Fagnes chicane and spun into the tyre wall before being spat out across the track. His left rear tyre was untethered and barrelled into Russell’s path.

The impact of the flying missile fell, thankfully, on his front wheel and sent him into the barriers.

Both men walked away unharmed, their races over.

It could have been much worse for Russell but for a few inches.