Formula 1: Force India to become Racing Point from 2019 season

Racing Point Force India,Formula 1 India,Racing Point Formula 1,Formula 1 racing point,Force India

Name Force India is confined to the pages of Formula 1 history with the 2018 season.

The team that became Racing Point Force India following the takeover by a consortium led by Lawrence Stroll, will now survive only as Racing Point for the next season.

The Force India name will be replaced by Racing Point on next season’s F1 grid, following official confirmation of the team’s rebranding for 2019.

It comes after their takeover earlier this year by a consortium led by Lawrence Stroll, whose son Lance will partner Sergio Perez in the squad’s new driver line-up, F1 has confirmed in a report.

Following that takeover, from August’s Belgian Grand Prix the team became a new entity, forfeiting their previous 2018 constructors’ championship points and competing as Racing Point Force India.

Also Read: All-women, $1.5 million prize money Formula 1-like series set for 2019 launch

Now, Formula 1’s governing body, the FIA, has confirmed in its official 2019 entry list that the team will be known simply as Racing Point next year.

The Force India name had been a fixture on the F1 grid since former boss Vijay Mallya took over the Spyker team – formerly Jordan and MF1 – at the end of 2007.

Other changes confirmed in the FIA’s 2019 entry list are new title sponsors for the Ferrari and Haas teams – Mission Winnow and Rich Energy respectively – as well as race numbers for most of next year’s new drivers.

The governing body for Formula 1, FIA has confirmed the following list of the teams with their full names and drivers for the 2019 season:

  1. Mercedes: Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport – #44 Lewis Hamilton and #77 Valtteri Bottas
  2. Ferrari: Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow – # Sebastian Vettel #16 Charles Leclerc
  3. Red Bull: Aston Martin Red Bull Racing – # Pierre Gasly and # 33 Max Verstappen
  4. Renault: Renault F1 Team – #3 Daniel Ricciardo and #27 Nico Hulkenberg
  5. Haas: Rich Energy Haas F1 Team – #8 Romain Grosjean and # Kevin Magnussen
  6. McLaren: McLaren F1 Team – #4 Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz
  7. Racing Point: Racing Point F1 Team – #11 Sergio Perez and #18 Lance Stroll
  8. Sauber: Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team – #7 Kimi Raikonnen and #99 Antonio Giovinazzi.