Guru Gopi, shishyaa Sindhu the best for the year

PV Sindhu

PV Sindhu is the Sportsperson of the Year. The laurel came at the Sports Ilustrated annual awards, where Sindhu’s mentor and coach Puellela Gopichand was conferred with the Coach of the Year Award.

Sindhu also figures on the cover page of the Sports Illustrated awards special edition cover page.

Legendary athlete Milkha Singh is honoured ith the Living Legend Award. Ace shooter Abhinv Bidra picked for the Life Time Achievement Award.

Sindhu, also had the honour of presenting the award to Gopi ‘Sir’, the man credited with the exceptional success of Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Kidambi Srikanth, B Sai Praneeth, HS Prannoy to put India among the super powers of world badminton.

India Test cricket team opener KL Rahul was the winner for the Game Changer of the Year Award, whereas the junior Indian hockey team was declared the Team of the Year award.
The 2008 Beijing Olympics gold medallist and the sole Indian to win an individual Olympic gold, Bindra said on a lighter note that at 34 he felt a little odd to receive it. “As a 12-year-old boy, I hated sports. I had one talent that is to work hard,” remarked the ace shooter.

Para athletes Devendra Jhajaria, Mariappan Thangavelu, Varun Bharti and Deepa Malik are among the proud recipients of Sports Illustrated awards.

Badminton player Jwala Gutta, football great Bhaichung Bhutia, boxer Amir Khan and cricketer Pragyan Ojha were present in the ceremony.


Jayant Rastogi, CEO, Magic Bus- Special award for service to Sports

Junjor Men’s Hockey Team- Team of the Year

Pullela Gopichand- Coach of the Year

Devendra Jhajharia, MariyappanThangavelu, Varun Bhati- Editor’s Award for Excellence

K Arumugam- Outstanding Contribution to Sports

Gaurav Gill- Athlete of the Year

KL Rahul- Gamechanger of the Year

Shiva Keshavan- Extreme Performer of the Year

Abhinav Bindra- Lifetime Achievement Award

Milind Soman- Community Development through Sports

Deepa Malik- Inspirational Athlete of the Year:

Milkha Singh- Living Legend

P V Sindhu- Sportsperson Of The Year