Hero CPL All Stars XI an indicator of cricket’s revival in West Indies

west indies,hero cpl all stars xi,hero caribbean premier league cpl,caribbean premier league cpl,hero caribbean premier league

The announcement of the 2018 Hero CPL All Stars XI is an indication of the emergence of new talent in the West Indies. The XI, which has three Caribbean veterans, has also a similar number of emerging talented youngsters from the West Indies. The emergence of this new talent will drive the Caribbean cricket forward, which of late has been struggling to regain its lost glory.

The Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) have announced the “CPL All Stars” team of the tournament for 2018. The team, selected by Tom Moody, Mark Butcher, Daren Ganga, Ian Bishop, Danny Morrison and Michael Slater, has three West Indian youngers below 25 years of age.

The three Windies players aged 25 and under in Rovman Powell (330 runs), Shimron Hetmyer (440 runs) and Oshane Thomas (18 wickets) have had an outstanding tournament in 2018.

Experienced Caribbean cricketers Andre Russell (163 runs and 14 wickets), Kieron Pollard (330 runs and four wickets) and Darren Bravo (353 runs) are also in the side.

The overseas players that have made it into the team are Colin Munro (567 runs) and Glenn Phillips (457 runs) of New Zealand, Imran Tahir (16 wickets) of South Africa, Fawad Ahmed (22 wickets) of Australia and Ali Khan (16 wickets) of the USA.

Tom Moody, Hero CPL’s Director, International Cricket, said: “We have seen some outstanding performances in this year’s Hero CPL, but what has stood out is the emergence of young local talent. The performances of both Hetmyer and Thomas have been a highlight of the tournament, they are both set for a bright future with the Windies.”

Also Read: Hero CPL: Star Sports inks two-year media rights deal for India

Hero CPL All Stars XI 2018:

1. Colin Munro (New Zealand)

2. Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)

3. Shimron Hetmyer (West Indies)

4. Rovman Powell (West Indies)

5. Darren Bravo (West Indies)

6. Kieron Pollard (West Indies)

7. Andre Russell (West Indies)

8. Ali Khan (USA)

9. Imran Tahir (South Africa)

10. Oshane Thomas (West Indies)

11. Fawad Ahmed (Australia)

Launched in 2013, the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is the official franchise-based T20 professional format cricket league organized and owned by the West Indies cricket board. The Hero CPL combines two of the most compelling aspects of Caribbean life – dramatic cricket and a vibrant Carnival atmosphere. Combining broadcast and digital viewership over 197 million fans watched the 2017 season to make it one of the fastest growing leagues in world cricket. Trinbago Knight Riders are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Stars and Jamaica Tallawahs. This year’s tournament takes place 8 August to 16 September 2018.

Also Read: Caribbean Premier League completes sponsorship sales, 18 brands on board