Hero, Maruti, Samsung broadcast sponsors for Ind-Aus series!

Hero, Maruti, Samsung broadcast sponsors for Ind-Aus series

Hero Honda, Maruti Suzuki and Samsung Electronics will be among the “broadcast sponsors” for the forthcoming India-Australia one-day and T-20 series. The Indian automobile and Korean electronic brands are stated to be the first ones to come on board for the series with Star Sports.

Insidesport has reliably learnt that Hero Motocorp and Samsung Electronics have closed negotiations with Star sales team. The signings are not confirmed as yet, though.

Hero Motocorp is one of the major sponsors for sports in the country. The brand is also associated with Star as an ISL sponsor.

Maruti, which has driven out as the “Driven By Partner” from Big Boss is also confirmed as one of the broadcast sponsors for the series.

Star India has been seeking Rs 9.5 lakh and Rs 11.75 lakh for a 10-second slots for the ODIs and T20s respectively, with about 7% to 10% buffer for negotiation. The market was crying foul over this hike as experts put Rs 4.25-4.50 lakh per 10 seconds for ODI and Rs 5.5-6 lakh per 10 seconds for T20 as holistic inventory price for the series.

“With brands like Hero and Samsung coming on board, Star may well claim that the hike (in ad slot rates) are not unjustified. But I still feel the broadcaster will find it tough to sell entire inventory at these rates,” a leading sports media buyer told Insidesport. “I will still add, with Star everything is possible.”

Meanwhile, Star India has also won the bid to sell the Doordarshan inventory for the India-Australia home series, which means the broadcaster will control the entire on-air ad sales for Australia’s forthcoming tour to India.

Australia are scheduled to play five one-day and three T-20 internationals on their tour to India. The ODI series will start on September 17. The series will be a battle for supremacy between the two powerhouses of global cricket.

This festive season, Star Sports will be bringing exciting cricketing action from Diwali to Christmas to cricketing fans in India. The India vs Australia series will be followed by India tour of New Zealand (3 ODIs and 3 T20Is) and Sri Lanka’s tour of India (3 ODIs and 3 T20Is).