Hockey India names 33 probables for men’s national camp

Hockey India has named 33 core probables for the national senior men’s coaching camp scheduled to begin on September 2 and to conclude on September 22 ahead of the team’s departure for the Belgium tour.

Players will report to chief coach Graham Reid at Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru on Sunday to prepare for the upcoming Belgium tour later in September and the Olympics qualifiers in October and November.

The core probables list includes goalkeepers P R Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera and Krishan Bahadur Pathak. Defenders Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Varun Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Jarmanpreet Singh and Dispan Tirkey have been called-up.

Midfielders Manpreet Singh, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Jaskaran Singh, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Ashish Kumar Topno, Sayyad Niyaz Rahim and Raj Kumar Pal have been included in the list.

Forwards Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Gursahibjit Singh, Simranjeet Singh, SV Sunil, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Shamsher Singh and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay have been called-up for the camp.

Following the Harmanpreet Singh-led team’s recent victory in the Olympic Test Event final against New Zealand, the national campers will be focused on remaining consistent in their performance.

“We have built some good momentum with this group over the last few months. The athletes will come to this camp keen and ready to improve on all aspects of team performance. Creating more quality opportunities, improving our defensive capabilities and working together to make each other better are the key aspects of this camp,” said Reid.

The chief coach added that the tour of Belgium in September will be a great platform for the Indian men’s hockey team to prepare for the FIH Olympic qualifiers in October and  November.

“At the end of September, we will travel to Europe to play and train with some of the best competition in the world. We need to be prepared for that, which will provide a great platform for the qualifiers in October and November,” said Reid.

Core Probables:


  1. P R Sreejesh
  2. Suraj Karkera
  3. Krishan Bahadur Pathak


  1. Harmanpreet Singh
  2. Birendra Lakra
  3. Surender Kumar
  4. Amit Rohidas
  5. Varun Kumar
  6. Rupinder Pal Singh
  7. Gurinder Singh
  8. Kothajit Singh Khadangbam
  9. Nilam Sanjeep Xess
  10. Jarmanpreet Singh
  11. Dipsan Tirkey


  1. Manpreet Singh
  2. Sumit
  3. Nilakanta Sharma
  4. Jaskaran Singh
  5. Hardik Singh
  6. Vivek Sagar Prasad
  7. Ashis Kumar Topno
  8. Sayyad Niyaz Rahim
  9. Raj Kumar Pal


  1. Mandeep Singh
  2. Akashdeep Singh
  3. Shilanand Lakra
  4. Gursahibjit Singh
  5. Shamsher Singh
  6. Simranjeet Singh
  7. SV Sunil
  8. Gurjant Singh
  9. Ramandeep Singh
  10. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay