I-League to start from November 30; no broadcaster yet

I-League 2019,I-League 2019 teams,I-League LIVE,Indian Super League 2019,Indian Super League 2019 LIVE

Fears expressed by InsideSport.co are coming true for the I-League. The All-India Football Federation has announced the dates for the next season of the “victimized” league, but there is no broadcaster.

There appears little hope for the I-League to have the LIVE broadcast of the games – an insult to the severe injury inflicted by the withdrawal of the status of the country’s premier professional club football competition.

InsideSport on October 16 had reported that the I-League is in for a broadcast snub after losing its “elite” status to the Indian Super League.

Also read: Broadcast snub next after losing premier league status!

I-League LIVE: Broadcast snub next after losing premier league status?

Broadcaster and the AIFF has also snubbed I-League when only selected games were telecast LIVE.

The fresh season of the I-League, which has officially been pushed below cash-rich Indian Super League (ISL), will begin from November 30 but the All India Football Federation (AIFF) is yet to confirm the broadcaster for the upcoming edition, adds PTI.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the League Committee here on Friday.

Defending champions Chennai City FC, Kolkata giants Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Minerva Punjab, Churchill Brother Goa, Gokulam Kerala and minnows Real Kashmir FC are among the major teams it the league.

The I-League 2019-20 dates were confirmed at a meeting, attended by AIFF senior vice-president Subrata Dutta, who is also the chairman of the League Committee, general secretary Kushal Das, CEO Sunando Dhar besides League committee members Souter Vaz, Anil Kumar and Chirag Tanna. AIFF technical director Isac Doru was also present.

I-League 2019-20 will commence on November 30, 2019 and the official broadcaster will be confirmed within a week,” the AIFF has stated in a Press release.

A maximum of three foreign players can be replaced by a club during the entire season and a maximum of eight officials will be allowed to sit on the bench during a match.

After the meeting between AIFF secretariat and I-League clubs, the U-22 player quota rule will be decided.

The committee reviewed submissions made by the state associations and after several deliberations, the committee has approved 10 clubs, that will undergo the Second Division League club licensing process.

AFC Roadmap: ISL gets top league status; little consolation for I-League

They are Bhawanipore FC, Mohammedan SC, Lonestar Kashmir FC, ARA FC, NGR Football Club Jammu, Kickstart FC, Karnataka, FC Bengaluru United, FC Kerala, Garhwal FC, AU Rajasthan FC.

Reserve teams ofK, Jamshedpur FC, Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC, FC Goa, Kerala Blasters FC, Mumbai City FC, Hyderabad FC, Punjab FC alongside a developmental team of AIFF will also participate in the Second Division League 2019-20.

Read more:I League-ISL issue: AIFF puts FIFA, AFC recommendations on back burner