ICC Elections for next chairman in July end, nomination process to be finalized by next week

The much hyped elections for the post of next chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) will be conducted in the last week of July. The global body will also finalize the nomination process for the elections by the end of this week and the same will be announced by next week. 

“ICC is going through a tough phase. It is critical that the election process gets completed soon. By the end of this week or starting next week all nomination and electoral processes should be finalized and elections will by the end of July”, said one of the source who is privy to the entire developments. 
ICC Election Nomination Process : New twist & New proposal tabled 
It is also reliably learnt that ICC is currently also deliberating a proposal put forth by some of the Associate member nations. According to the proposal, all 104 ICC members should be allowed to take part and vote in the ICC elections. As per the current ICC MOA (Memorandum and Articles of Association), only the board of directors has power to elect the chairman of the ICC. 
The board of directors comprises of the 12 members of the test playing nations, 3 associate members (Malaysia, Scotland and Singapore), current ICC Chairman, Independent Director Indra Nooyi and ICC CEO Manu Sawhney. But as per the norms, ICC CEO does not have voting rights. 
It is hard to believe the proposal put forth by the Associate nations can see light of the day this term, but currently ICC is deliberating on the same. 
ICC Chairman Elections : Potential Candidates
The BCCI is yet to come in open about Sourav Ganguly’s candidature for the ICC chairman post. According to the BCCI sources, once the nomination process is public than only the board can decide the way forward on the elections.
Same is the case with England Cricket Board’s former chairman Colin Graves. Grave is currently considered as the hot favorite for the ICC chairman post but all that can change, if BCCI decides to field their own candidate in the elections. 
PCB’s chairman Ehsan Mani has already declared that he will not contest. But the name of former president of the Singapore Cricket Association Imran Khawaja has been doing the rounds and so is the name of former president of Cricket West Indies, Dave Cameron. 

And also don’t be too surprise if the outgoing chairman Shashank Manohar may also do a U-turn to throw his hat back in the ring for a third term with ICC.