ICC Hall of Fame 2021: Vinoo Mankad and Kumar Sangakkara inducted in Hall of Fame 21 – Check out full list

ICC Hall of Fame: Sachin Tendulkar 'delighted' to see Vinoo Mankad inducted into Hall of Fame, calls him one of the finest cricketers

ICC Hall of Fame 2021: Vinoo Mankad and Kumar Sangakkara inducted in Hall of Fame 21-  The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday revealed the 10 legendary cricketers added to the ICC Hall of Fame. Former India cricketer Vinoo Mankad and former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara were inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame 2021. Zimbabwe’s legendary batsman Andy Flower was also added to the list.

Here is the full list of ICC Hall of Fame 2021

  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Andy Flower
  • Vinoo Mankad
  • Desmond Haynes
  • Stan McCabe
  • Learie Constantine
  • Monty Noble
  • Aubrey Faulkner
  • Ted Dexter
  • Bob Willis

The special edition of the ICC Hall of Fame will coincide with the first-ever World Test Championship (ICC WTC Final) final. Ten legends of the game who have made a significant contribution to the history of Test cricket will be inducted to join 93 players who are already in the illustrious list of ICC Hall of Famers.

Kumar Sangakkara is widely regarded as one of the greatest batsmen in the history of the sport and has been among the top 3 batsmen in ICC rankings across all 3 formats of the game at various stages during his international career.

During Andy Flower’s peak from October to December of 2001, Flower was ranked as the best Test batsman in the world. After retirement, he served as the coach of the English cricket team from 2009 to 2014.

Vinoo Mankad, who was best known for his world record-setting opening partnership of 413 runs with Pankaj Roy in 1956, a record that stood for 52 years, and for running out a batsman “backing up” at the non-striker’s end. Mankading in cricket is named after him.

Learie Constantine played 18 Test matches before the Second World War and took the West Indies’ first wicket in Test cricket. An advocate against racial discrimination, in later life he was influential in the passing of the 1965 Race Relations Act in Britain. He was knighted in 1962 and made a life peer in 1969.


ALSO READ| ICC WTC Final: Virat Kohli gives weather update ahead of IND vs NZ World Test Championship Final

The special intake will see two players from each of the following five eras join the ranks of the world’s greatest players. Early Cricket Era (pre-1918)
Inter-War Cricket Era (1918 – 1945)
Post-War Cricket Era (1946 – 1970)
ODI Era (1971 – 1995)
Modern Cricket Era (1996 – 2016)

ICC Hall of Fame 2021 LIVE Updates: “It is an honour for us to announce a one-time induction of ten cricketing greats into the ICC Hall of Fame to coincide with the first-ever final of the World Test Championship in Southampton,” said ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice.

“We are celebrating the history of the game and what better way than to honour some of the greats that founded and played the game across different eras. These are all players with a legacy that will continue to inspire future generations for years to come,” he added.

ALSO READ| ENG vs NZ 2nd Test: Big setback for Kiwis as Kane Williamson ruled out ahead of ICC WTC Final, Tom Latham to lead

The special edition ICC Hall of Fame show will be streamed Live on all ICC digital channels, including Facebook and YouTube on Sunday featuring interviews from the inductees and reactions and insights from a specialist panel of guests including Lisa Sthalekar and Lawrence Booth, who will also be joined by two special inductees making their way into this league of legends.

The ten icons inducted as part of this special edition have been voted for by the ICC Hall of Fame Voting Academy, comprising of living Hall of Fame members, a FICA representative, prominent cricket journalists and senior ICC figures.

ALSO READ| ICC WTC Final: Ex-NZ coach Mike Hesson feels Mayank Agarwal should open batting for India in World Test Championship final

The ICC’s independent statistician will compile a longlist of ex-players or other significant cricketing figures for each era (based on the period during which they had their most significant impact) and will be presented to the Hall of Fame Nominations Committee, together with relevant statistics and brief commentary.

Results will produce a weighted score, against which the top two individuals in each era will be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. In the event of a tie, the players with the most first-choice votes will take priority.

The ten selected names will be formally inducted by way of a digital show on ICC digital channels.

For more sports updates, follow us at insidesport.co and Moneyball for IPL players’ salaries.