ICC T20 World Cup in India: BCCI proposes 9 venues, ICC to take final call soon

ICC T20 World Cup Venues: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has proposed nine cities for the upcoming men’s T20 World Cup in India. Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Kolkata and Mumbai were part of the list finalised by BCCI. The decision on the T20 World Cup final venue is however yet to be taken. It will be subject to the Covid-19 situation in India.

ALSO READ| Is Dhoni’s current batting form asset or liability, check what CSK’s CEO has to say?

According to the ESPNCricinfo report, the ICC and the BCCI have discussed different plans in case of staging the event. The report added that the world body is closely watching the ongoing IPL 2021 which is being conducted on a caravan model. An ICC team is understood to be travelling to India on April 26, to monitor the situation.

ICC T20 World Cup Dates and Schedule: When is the tournament?

The 16-team competition is scheduled between October and November with November 13 as the date for the final. As per the report, ICC has done recces of few of the shortlisted venues.

ICC T20 World Cup: What about the visas of players participating?

Earlier, according to ANI report, the players participating in the T20 World Cup will get the visas.

Geoff Allardice, the interim CEO of the ICC, had said two weeks ago that he expected the T20 World Cup to go ahead as planned in India, but the governing body had back-up plans in place as well. Sri Lanka and the UAE are among the back-up venues for the event.

The BCCI remains confident about staging the event mainly because it believes by the time the World Cup is hosted, a healthy percentage of adults in India would have been vaccinated. On Monday, the Indian government stated that May 1 onwards, all adults over 18 years could get vaccinated.

Originally Australia were meant to host the T20 World Cup in 2020, but the ICC postponed the event in the wake of the pandemic affecting normal life and global travel last year.