ICC Ultimate Test Series: 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy between Ind vs Aus voted Ultimate Test series in World Test Championship

ICC Ultimate Test Series: 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy between Ind vs Aus voted Ultimate Test series in World Test Championship- The 2020/21 Border Gavaskar Trophy between India vs Australia, which India won 2-1, is chosen as the Ultimate Test series in World Test Championship.

Ahead of the #WTC21 final, we set out to determine #TheUltimateTestSeries. After 15 head-to-heads and over seven million votes across our social channels, we have a winner… The 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy takes the crown,” ICC wrote in a tweet.

ICC Ultimate Test Series: India arrived in Australia in late 2020 with the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in their possession after their historic victory in 2017/18. However, that series win had come against an Australian team without its two biggest batting stars – Steve Smith and David Warner.

Also Read: ICC WTC Final: R Ashwin responds to Sanjay Manjerakar’s ‘all-time great’ comment with Tamil movie dialogue

The 2020/21 edition was about proving they could beat Australia no matter who they had available. As things turned out, it wasn’t just about who Australia had available but who India wouldn’t as the series went on.

ICC Ultimate Test Series: Before a ball had been bowled they lost pace veteran Ishant Sharma to injury, while opening batsman Rohit Sharma (hamstring) was ruled out of the opening two matches. They would also be without captain Virat Kohli for the final three Tests, with the skipper returning home for the birth of his first child.

By the end of the series they would be playing without Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Umesh Yadav. Each of them would have their moments in the sun in Australia before the unlikeliest of heroes got the job done in the unlikeliest of venues.

Also Read: ICC WTC Final: ‘Room with a view,’ Ishant Sharma shares pictures of Ageas Bowl, Southampton; In Pics

“Just under two weeks ago we started on our journey to crown the Ultimate Test Series ahead of this month’s ICC World Test Championship Final. We whittled it down to a shortlist of 16 and from there we let you take over. Across 15 head-to-heads, over seven million votes were cast as the 16 series were knocked out one by one until there was only one left standing – the 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy,” ICC said in a release.

An instant classic, the 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy was taken out 1-2 by an India side that increasingly found themselves having to dig further into their resources.

2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy Results: 

1st Test at Adelaide Oval: Australia win by 8 wickets, MoM: Tim Paine

2nd Test at MCG: India win by 8 wickets, MoM: Ajinkya Rahane

3rd Test at SCG: Draw, MoM: Steve Smith

4th Test at Perth: India win by 3 wickets, MoM: Rishabh Pant