ICC World Test Championship: New Zealand clean sweep against Pakistan puts pressure on India in WTC final race

ICC World Test Championship – New Zealand clean sweep against Pakistan puts pressure on India in WTC final race: New Zealand on Wednesday thrashed Pakistan by an innings and 176 runs in the second Test and whitewash the two-match series. With the victory, New Zealand kept themselves alive in the race of the ICC World Test Championship final. However, the victory has also put the pressure on India as they now have to win the third Test against Australia in Sydney to keep New Zealand at a distance in the WTC Points table.

ICC World Test Championship Race: Where does India, Australia and New Zealand currently stands at WTC points table?

Australia re currently leading the charts with 0.766 two-match into their four-match home series against India. India are placed second with 0.722, playing their fifth series and New Zealand are third with 0.70 percentage points.

ICC World Test Championship Race: India in a must-win situation to avoid pressure

Ajinkya Rahane-led India turned the table on Australia after beating them by 8 wickets in Melbourne. With the win they secured 30 points and levelled the Border-Gavaskar series. A win in the third Test would give them a handsome lead over New Zealand. However, a loss would cost them crucial pct points. Furthermore, given Gabba being Australia’s stronghold, India would be in a difficult position. A defeat in the third and fourth Test would mean they will have 0.65 percentage points.

ICC World Test Championship: Who will play the WTC Finals? 

The top two sides at the end of the league on percentage points will play the final in Lord’s. Each series of the league is worth 120 points, distributed evenly over the number of matches in a series, ranging from 60 in two-Test series to 24 for a five-Test series.

Distribution of points in ICC World Test Championship
Matches in series Points for a win Points for a tie Points for a draw Points for a defeat
2 60 30 20 0
3 40 20 13 0
4 30 15 10 0
5 24 12 8 0


ICC World Test Championship: How can India qualify for the final in Lord’s?

The Indian cricket team is yet to play six more Tests in this WTC cycle — two in Australia and four at home against England this year. If the subcontinental giants win four matches of the six, they qualify for the final in Lord’s. If India only win three games, they would need to have the other three matches end in draws in order to retain a spot in the top two.

Meanwhile, Australia are scheduled to play a three-Test series in South Africa. The results Aussies incur there will also have its bearing on the points table.