ICC WTC 2021-23 Schedule: Champion New Zealand to begin title defence in India, Virat Kohli and Co to start in August

ICC WTC 2021-23 Schedule: Champion New Zealand will begin their title defence in November as they face a daunting start against India in the WTC 2021-2023 cycle. The 2021 cycle will begin in July 2021 and end in 2023. Each country will play three home series and as many away series.

Following the India series in November, the BlackCaps will take on Bangladesh and South Africa at home for two Tests each. After this, they will play England in May-June.

“A lot of people have asked me over the last 24 hours: ‘will there be more test matches?’ We’ve actually locked in the schedule through to 2023, but we’ve started discussions about the Future Tours Programme after 2023 to 2031. It would be good if we can play more test matches in our series, that’s something we’ll be looking to do,” New Zealand Cricket chief executive David White was quoted by Stuff.co.nz as saying.

ICC WTC 2021-23 Schedule – India to begin the campaign in England

Virat Kohli’ Team India, on the other hand, will begin their World Test Championship campaign in England from August 4. They will face Joe Root-led side in the five-Test series, followed by the two-Test series against the Kiwis.

India will then tour South Africa, followed by consecutive home series against Sri Lanka and Australia.

ICC WTC 2021-23 Schedule – India’s fixtures

India Tour of England

August 4-8: England versus India, First Test, Trent Bridge

August 12-16: England versus India, Second Test, Lord’s

August 25-29: England versus India, Third Test, Headingley

September 2-6: England versus India, Fourth Test, Kennington Oval

September 10-14: England versus India, Fifth Test, Old Trafford

New Zealand tour of India (November)

It will be a good chance for India to avenge their WTC Final loss against New Zealand. The two-Test series will begin in November 2021.

India tour of South Africa (December 2021-January 2022)

India will tour South Africa for the three-Test series. The series will begin in December and will carry into next year.

Sri Lanka tour of India

Right before the IPL 2022, Sri Lanka will face India in a three-match Test series. A limited-overs series will also be played.

Australia tour of India (October-November 2022)

The Aussies will visit India for four Tests in 2022. The series is scheduled to happen a year later in October and November.

India tour of Bangladesh

India ends their WTC campaign of 2023 in Bangladesh. They will play two Tests against the Bangla Tigers after the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

ICC WTC 2021-23 Schedule – New Zealand fixtures

September-October: Bangladesh (away), 5 T20s; Pakistan (a), 5 T20s, 3 ODIs

October-November: T20 World Cup (India or UAE); India (a), 2 World Test Championship tests

December-January: Bangladesh (home), 2 WTC tests

February-March: South Africa (h), 2 WTC tests, limited-overs matches

May-June: England (a), 3 WTC tests