ICC WTC final India squad announced: Hardik Pandya dropped; No place for Shaw in WTC final and England Test series team

India tour of England: Big relief for Virat Kohli and team, UK government relaxes quarantine norms for Indian cricketers for ICC WTC Final
India tour of England: Big relief for Virat Kohli and team, UK government relaxes quarantine norms for Indian cricketers for ICC WTC Final

ICC WTC final India squad, India vs New Zealand: Hardik Pandya and Prithvi Shaw missed out from the Indian squad for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final and the five-match Test series against England announced on Friday. BCCI picked a 24-member squad for the England tour with KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha’s availability subject to fitness clearance.

Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Mohammed Shami, on the other hand, have recovered from their injuries and returned to the India squad.

ALSO READ| BCCI to create bio-bubble in India before travelling to England for WTC final

Team India’s first stop will be in Southampton where they play New Zealand to decide the first champion of the Test format. Following their 3-1 win against England at home, India finished as the No. 1 side with 72.2 percentage points and booked their place in the final.

India squad for England WTC Final: Full Tour schedule

India’s tour of England, 2021-22
Sr. Date Match Venue
A 18th – 22nd June WTC Final vs NZ Southampton
1 4th – 8th August 1st Test vs England Nottingham
2 12th – 16th August 2nd Test vs England London (Lord’s)
3 25th – 29th August 3rd Test vs England Leeds
4 2nd – 6th September 4th Test vs England London (Oval)
5 10th – 14th September 5th Test vs England Manchester


ICC WTC final India squad announced: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

India squad for England WTC Final: New Zealand itinerary for World Test Championship

Meanwhile, New Zealand Cricket had announced travel arrangements for players and support staff to reach the United Kingdom in time for their series against England and the ICC World Test Championship final.

The bulk of New Zealand’s IPL-based Test contingent will depart India for the United Kingdom on 11 May – the earliest date an exemption for their arrival in England could be obtained.

Captain Kane Williamson, fast bowler Kyle Jamieson and spinner Mitchell Santner, as well as physio Tommy Simsek, will remain in a secure mini-bubble in New Delhi before departing for the UK, ahead of preparations for the Test series against England, and the WTC final against India.

However, fast bowler Trent Boult and Black Caps trainer Chris Donaldson will return home briefly to see their families before reconnecting with the Test squad in early June.