ICC WTC Final: Virat Kohli bowls to KL Rahul in Captain vs Captain face off during Team India intra-match

icc wtc final, ind vs nz, world test championship

ICC WTC Final, Ind vs NZ: With Team India all set to clash against New Zealand in the upcoming World Test Championship (WTC) final, Virat Kohli will have a task cut out for him – to win his first ICC trophy as captain. It has been over a decade since he lifted an ICC trophy. He last did so in 2008 winning India U19 World Cup. Kohli is doing all he can to repeat the 2008 heroics. In fact, he has also picked up the ball to give India an extra bowling option.

The Indian skipper was seen having fun during the intra-match between his team against KL Rahul’s India. During the match, he was spotted bowling to Rahul. BCCI shared the video and captioned it: “Captain vs Captain at the intra-squad match simulation. What do you reckon happened next? Straight-drive, Defense, LBW.

Earlier, Kohli too gave a glimpse of his preparation for the ICC WTC Final. He had shared a video of him batting on Instagram. He wrote: “@virat.kohli fine-tuning the drives ahead of #WTC21 Final “.

ALSO FOLLOW:  Intra-match Day 2 , follow LIVE UPDATES

ICC WTC Final: The World Test Championship is scheduled to begin from June 18 at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton. To gain match practice and acclimatise to the England conditions, Team India is currently playing an intra-squad match.

Unlike India, their opponents New Zealand will be coming into the fixture with some proper game time. They are currently playing a two-match Test series against England.

India arrived in England on June 3 and served a mandatory three-day quarantine at the on-site hotel. After the WTC final, India will face England in a five-match Test series.

ICC WTC India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla