Imran Khan invites Gavaskar, Kapil Dev for oath ceremony

Imran Khan invites Gavaskar, Kapil Dev

Former Pakistan cricket team captain and Tehreek-i-Insaf party chief Imran Khan is scheduled to swear in as the Pakistan Prime Minister on August 11. He has invited fellow cricketers from India – Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Navjot Singh Sidhu for the oath-taking ceremony.

The Indian invitees list also included film star Aamir Khan.

Imran Khan led Pakistan’s Tehreek-i-Insaaf (PTI) has said earlier that the SAARC countries leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, will be invited for the oath-taking ceremony. No inivitation is extended to the Indian Prime Minister so far.

The PTI, led by 65-year-old Khan, has emerged as the single largest party in the National Assembly after the July 25 elections, but it is still short of numbers to form the government on its own. Khan on Monday said that he would take oath as prime minister on August 11.

PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry has tweeted on Tuesday said on Twitter that the party would take the decision on inviting the foreign dignitaries after consulting the Pakistan Foreign Office. “Media speculations about international dignitaries attending PM oath ceremony are not correct. We have sought the advice of Foreign Office on the matter and will decide accordingly #PTI,” he had tweeted.

Khan meanwhile has thanked PM Modi for congratulating Imran Khan for his PTI emerging as the single largest party in the recently-concluded Pakistan general elections. “Pakistan and India will work to open a new chapter in bilateral ties,” he has stated.