Ind vs Aus 2nd T20: Yuzvendra Chahal equals Jasprit Bumrah’s big record, becomes highest-wicket taker in T20I

Ind vs Aus 2nd T20 – Yuzvendra Chahal becomes leading T20I wicket-taker for India: Team India leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal equalled Jasprit Bumrah’s tally to become the joint-highest wicket-taker for India in T20 international cricket. Chahal sent back Steven Smith in the second T20I against Australia on Sunday to end up with 59 wickets in the shortest format in international cricket.

ALSO CHECK: IND vs AUS 2nd T20 Live Score

Most T20I wickets for India
Player Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts
JJ Bumrah 2016-2020 50 49 179.1 7 1195 59
YS Chahal 2016-2020 44* 44 171.3 1 1415 59
R Ashwin 2010-2017 46 46 171.0 2 1193 52
B Kumar 2012-2019 43 43 154.2 2 1088 41
Kuldeep Yadav 2017-2020 21 20 75.3 1 537 39


Notably, in 2019, Chahal surpassed Bumrah to become the fastest Indian bowler to scalp 50 T20I wickets. The spinner achieved the feat in 34 appearances, while the pacer took 41 matches to touch the milestone.

Also, in the first T20I against Australia on Friday, Yuzvendra Chahal — brought in as concussion substitute for Ravindra Jadeja — took the stage by storm with ball in hand and finished with match-winning figures of 3/25.

ALSO READ: Ind vs Aus 2nd T20I: Virat Kohli’s Team India set to break Pakistan’s big T20I record

Chahal dismissed two form men — Aaron Finch (35) and Steve Smith (12) — in his first two overs to turn the game on its head and later the leggie removed Matthew Wade (7) to extend’s India’s domination in the game.