Ind vs Aus 3rd Test: Australia skipper Tim Paine declares, “David Warner will play Sydney Test”

Ind vs Aus 3rd Test – Big Declaration by Tim Paine about David Warner: Australia skipper Tim Paine has all but confirmed that David Warner will be part of the playing XI in the third Test against India scheduled to commence from Thursday in Sydney.

“We’ve got a team but we’re just not releasing it at the moment,” Paine said in a media conference this morning.

“The boys are still training so we’ll get through that first, unscathed and then we’ll try to get a team out as quickly as we can after that.

“Obviously with David (Warner) playing and potentially more, there’s some conversations that need to be had first.”

Paine also praised Warner and was in no doubt that he will make an instant impact with his presence in the playing XI.

“Davey’s been awesome, he brings really high intensity and fills guys with confidence around him,” Paine said of Warner’s return.

“He’s a player that you love having on your side. He’s always got plenty to say, really energetic, very professional and I’ve always loved playing.

“He’s a player in this team guys love to have in the side, so he’s made an instant impact with that energy and intensity that he brings.

Meanwhile, Paine hinted that Will Pucovski will be strongly considered in the playing XI after being cleared by an independent neurologist on Monday to play.

“Will’s been fantastic as well. He’s been out of the bubble for a couple of weeks, so he’s excited, he’s fresh and he’s been batting really well in the nets and looks ready to go if he’s called upon.”

Notably, opener Joe Burns has been excluded for the remaining two Tests of the series and the inclusion of 22-year-old Pucovski can see David Warner get his 12th opening partner in the format.

The pair batted together in the nets at the SCG during yesterday’s main pre-Test training session and Pucovski was one of the last to leave the nets near the end of this morning’s two-hour optional session.

The four-match series is currently tied 1-1 after Australia won the opening Test at Adelaide and India won the second Test at Melbourne.

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner