Ind vs Eng 2nd Test: Joe Root on cusp of breaking 4 big records in test cricket

Ind vs Eng 2nd Test – Records Joe Root can break in 2nd Test: Not 1, not 2 but England skipper Joe Root can break 4 big records in test cricket as India vs England 2nd Test starts today in Chennal. Root is in red-hot form as he has scored three 150+ scores in the last 3 matches. Root’s 218 runs knock sinked India in the 1st test. One more century and victory for the champion England batsman can lead Root to 4 new records.

Record 1: Break Michael Vaughan’s record of most Test wins for England

Joe Root is currently equal with Michael Vaughan in a number of wins for England in Tests. If the England skipper can beat India in the second Test, he will have 27 wins– most wins as captain of England in Test cricket. It will also be Root and England’s 7 consecutive vicotry on foreign soil – which also is the record.

Also Read:Ind vs Eng: Three headaches Virat Kohli’s India face before picking playing XI for 2nd Test

Most successful captains for England in Tests:
26 wins : JOE ROOT* (47 matches)
26 wins : Michael Vaughan (51 games)
24 wins : Alastair Cook
24 wins : Andrew Strauss

Record 2 Equal Kumar’s Sangakkara’s most 150+ scores

The England captain needs just 150+ score to equal Kumar Sangakkara’s record of most consecutive 150+ scores in Test cricket. He has scored three 150+ scores in the last three Tests, including two double centuries.

150+ scores in consecutive Tests

4 Kumar Sangakkara (2007)
3 Wally Hammond (1928-29)
3 Don Bradman (1937)
3 Zaheer Abbas (1982-93)
3 Mudassar Nazar (1983)
3 Tom Latham (2018-19)
3 JOE ROOT (2021) *

Record 3 : Equal Andrew Strauss’ record

Joe Root can equal Andrew Strauss’ record of 21 tons in Tests. He has currently scored 20 centuries for England in the longer format of the game.

Record 4: Equal Sachin Tendulkar’s double centuries record

Joe Root can equal Sachin Tendulkar’s record of six double hundreds in Test cricket. Apart from Master Blaster, the elite list includes V Sehwag, M Attapattu, J Miandad, Younis Khan and Ricky Ponting.

For more Ind vs Eng cricket news, updates, follow us at