Ind vs Eng T20I series: Dhawan, Iyer hit Team India’s practice sessions while Chakravarthy Tewatia await fitness clearance

Ind vs Eng T20I series – Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer: India’s limited-overs picks Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav joined the team and hit practice sessions ahead of their five-match T20I series against England from March 12 in Ahmedabad.

The other new faces in the team, Varun Chakravarthy and Rahul Tewatia will have to clear the fitness test at National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru before they can join the team.

Also Read: Ind vs Eng 4th Test Day 3 Live Score

Dhawan, who joined the team on the back of a century in the Vijay Hazare Trophy for Delhi, met with his teammates and shared a picture with Rishabh Pant, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, and Suryakumar Yadav on Friday.

Dhawan was awestruck by Pant and Rohit’s gritty knocks in the first innings of the 4th Test at Motera in Ahmedabad. The India opener shared a picture with Pant, Rohit, Suryakumar, and Kuldeep with the caption “lovely meeting the boys and outstanding knocks by Rishabh and Rohit”.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Shikhar Dhawan (@shikhardofficial)

After being overlooked for the Test series, Iyer and Dhawan joined the team for ODI and T20I series against England. Iyer, who did not have a good run in Australia, did not waste time to hit the practice session in Ahmedabad.

Both Dhawan and Iyer will be looking to impress after a decent run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. They did not have a great outing in Australia. Dhawan scored 81 runs in three innings in the T20Is against Australia while Iyer managed only 12 runs in two matches. With IPL and ICC T20 World Cup around the corner, both will be eager to put up a good show.

Also Read: Ind vs Eng 4th Test: Washington Sundar left stranded on 96, joins R Ashwin in this ‘unwanted’ list

With India in a good position in the 4th Test against England, the hosts will look to win the limited-overs series. The five T20I matches will be played in Ahmadabad while the three ODIs will be played in a Pune behind closed doors.

India squad for T20Is against England: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.