India-SA Tests to be Freedom Series; CSA releases TVC

India-South Africa Freedom Series - InsideSport

Cricket South Africa is promoting the forthcoming Test series against visiting Indians as the Freedom Series. CSA has also released an official TVC to promote the series.

A specially designed Freedom Series Trophy Podium will also commemorate the landmark series and this will be unveiled in a special ceremony ahead of the first Sunfoil Test at PPC Newlands in two weeks’ time.

As Test series’ go, South Africa versus India rates up there with the best contests in world cricket. Since the Proteas re-admission to international cricket in 1991, these two countries have battled it out 33 times over 12 series played equally in South Africa and India. Series number 13 will have added context as the two countries have agreed to name all future Test series: The Freedom Series, CSA said in a release.

This tour was originally labelled the Friendship Series – it was South Africa’s way of reciprocating India’s efforts in ending the country’s sporting isolation in 1991. India had been among the principal opponents of apartheid.

The Freedom Series was felt by both nations to be a more fitting name in recognition of South Africa’s and India’s shared history of winning freedom through non-violence, not to mention their shared love of cricket!

To kick off the festivities of The Freedom Series, which is sponsored by Sunfoil, Cricket South Africa has launched a nostalgic TVC alongside some promotional video clips. The one-minute clip shows the Mahatma Gandhi as the symbol of India’s freedom struggle, Nelson Mandela an icon of the South African crusade and Clive Rice as the face of South Africa’s return to international cricket.

CSA has also released another TVC, which showcases home team’s messages for the series and to play for freedom.

The three-Test series will be played in Cape Town, Centurion and Johannesburg. India’s one-and-a-half -month tour of South Africa will also include six one-day internationals and three T-20 internationals. The first Test at the Newlands Ground, Cape Town, starts on January 5.