India tour of Australia: Alex Carey’s big compliment to DC skipper Shreyas Iyer, says “he has got the potential to lead India one day”

India tour of Australia: Shreyas Iyer is currently in Sydney gearing up for the upcoming three-match T20I and ODI series against Australia. He will be coming into the series, after leading his IPL team, Delhi Capitals, to their maiden final this season. The 25-year-old was praised by everyone for his calm and composed demeanour in pressure situations. And many believe he has the potential to lead team India. The latest in his long list of admirers is his DC team mate and Australian wicket-keeper Alex Carey.

Carey heaped praises on his IPL skipper and said that Iyer has all the qualities to don the captain’s hat for the Blue Army. “No doubt he’s got the potential to lead India one day. I think Shreyas is going to be a fantastic leader moving forward,” Carey said as quoted by Hindustan Times.

ALSO READ| Indian Cricket Team Schedule: Virat Kohli and team scheduled to play non-stop 12 months in 2021

“His ability to connect with all the players in the group was fantastic. He took the focus off himself and worried more about the group. He’s been really successful for the last couple of seasons for Delhi,” the Australian wicketkeeper added.

“He’s still young and learning his crafts. He’s a fantastic batsman and a great person as well. To connect with every player in a big squad like Delhi is quite a tiring task but he was excellent in managing that. His positive attitude towards the game and his partnership with Ricky really worked well for us. The future is very bright for him.”

India tour of Australia schedule

India plays Australia on November 27 in the first ODI. The game will be held at Sydney Cricket Ground at 9:10 am IST. The first T20 match will be played on December 4, while the four-match Test series begins from December 17.

ALSO READ| Cricket Australia airlifts Australian team members including captain Tim Paine into Sydney

India squad for tour of Australia

India T20Is Full Squad:

Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-capt, wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

India ODIs Full Squad:

Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-capt, wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (wk)

India Tests Full Squad:

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj