India tour of Australia : Fresh Covid outbreak in South Australia, doubts raised over Adelaide Test match

India tour of Australia: Their is fresh outbreak of Covid-19 in South Australia. Questions are being raised whether Adelaide will be able to host the only test match where Virat Kohli will play and captain India. A cluster of COVID-19 cases in Adelaide – the venue of the series-opener between Australia and India – has prompted other states to close their borders with South Australia.The outbreak has forced dozens of people into isolation and seen several businesses close.

Cricket Australia is monitoring the fallout from the coronavirus outbreak in South Australia. “There is ongoing monitoring but that’s the end of the story for now” a CA spokeswoman told local media.

This comes only a month before Adelaide is due to host the blockbuster first Test against India, from December 17. The two nations are due to gather in Adelaide on December 10. The governments of Western Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory have announced border closures with Queensland to impose a 14-day hotel quarantine on all visitors from Adelaide from Monday.

Even players who were playing in Sheffield Shied including Australian test captain Tim Paine has been asked to go into home quarantine. “Fingers-crossed that is only a small cluster and they get on top of that because the health and wellbeing of people is paramount,” Former Australia coach and current Brisbane Heat boss Darren Lehmann said.

“I’m sure CA will do a really good job of managing through those processes because it will now be a logistical nightmare”, Lehman added

India tour of Australia : If not Adelaide, Sydney can host the first test match between India & Australia

Should Adelaide be unable to stage the pink-ball clash, Sydney is the natural replacement. Both teams will already be there because of the preceding white-ball series, with matches to be shared with Canberra. The second Test will be held in Melbourne. Factors that will determine whether Adelaide will be replaced ?

– One major fear for cricket authorities would be if the relaxing of border restrictions was delayed.

-Another issue would be if further restrictions in South Australia were introduced

– Crowd sizes can be dropped. Current restrictions cap crowds at 50 per cent capacity, leaving 27,000 tickets available per day.

– This is the only Test that Indian skipper Virat Kohli is due to play.

India Tour of Australia 2020-21 : Teams & Full Schedule of the series

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Australia ODI & T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey , Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (c) (first Test only), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

Dettol ODI Series v India

First ODI: November 27, SCG,

Second ODI: November 29, SCG

Third ODI: December 2, Manuka Oval

Dettol T20 INTL Series v India

First T20: December 4, Manuka Oval

Second T20: December 6, SCG

Third T20: December 8, SCG

Tour matches

Australia A v India A, December 6-8, Drummoyne Oval

Australia A v Indians, December 11-13, SCG (day-night)

Vodafone Test Series v India

First Test: December 17-21, Adelaide Oval

Second Test: December 26-30, MCG

Third Test: January 7-11, SCG

Fourth Test: January 15-19, Gabba