IPL 2018: The retained players!

IPL 2018: The retained players! - InsideSport

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina are back in the Chennai IPL camp. There is no news on hometown hero Ravichandran Ashwin, while the CSK management is “yet to take a final call on Ravindra Jadeja’s retention”.

The Chennai franchisee is also not sure as of now whether to name two players or three, as the teams will submit their retained players’ names to the Indian Premier League Governing Council on Thursday.

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are making a comeback to the IPL after completing their two-year suspension terms. The teams have the option to retain the players who were members of their squad during the 2015 IPL edition and have later represented Royal Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions. Dhoni from the RPS and Raina from the Lions are already back with the CSK.

Steve Smith and Ajinkya Rahane, who were the key members of the RPS, are heading for their homecoming to the Royals camp. The Rajasthan Royals team management has reportedly finalized to retain their two seasoned warriors.

As the January 4 deadline to submit the retained players names inches closer, insidesport.co takes a look at the playing assets the teams are going to retain.

Chennai Super Kings: Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, also an integral part of the franchisees’ key decision-making panel, along with Suresh Raina are all set to play the 2018 season in the Yellow jerseys with a roaring lions’ face as the logo. A senior CSK official has confirmed to insidesport.co that there is no final decision on the third player. “It may be, or may not be Jadeja,” the manager said. “We are working on a number of combinations and permutations. The strategy is to get all our key players back and form a strong combination that we have always been.”

Raina had been acquired by the Gujarat Lions in 2016 for Rs 9.5 crore.

ALSO READ: KKR ‘not retaining’ Gambhir for IPL Season XI

Rajasthan Royals: In-form, highly dependable Australian captain Smith and Rahane are certain retentions for the team returning to the IPL fold under new franchisee owners – 21st Century Fox’s Lachlan Murdoch and British Indian Manoj Badale.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Skipper Virat Kohli, the highest paid IPL player for his Rs 15 crore deal in 2016, is all set to extend his journey with the RCB to the eleventh successive seasons. The RCB team is also tipped to retain AB de Villiers and Yazuvendra Chahal.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine is the certain retention choice for the KKR team management, which has made up its mind on allowing its most successful captain Gautam Gambhir go under the hammer. The team management is also considering to “retain” West Indian hard hitter Andre Russell along with Kuldeep Yadav, who following his recent Team India heroics might turn out to be an expensive proposition to acquire during the auction.

Mumbai Indians: One of the most dependable T20 cricketer Rohit Sharma, the joint record holder for the 35-ball century, is certain to figure in the retained players list for Mumbai Indians, which is tipped to also have Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya’s names. Bumrah has risen to the ranks from the Mumbai Indian’s stable under the tutelage of Sri Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga. Though there can be a toss between Bumrah and Krunal Pandya, who has been extremely impressive during Mumbai’s journey to win the IPL crown last year.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner is the first choice of retention for the Hyderabad team, who are also storming their brains to pick two between Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and the young Afghanistan international leg spinner Rashid Khan.

Delhi Daredevils: The Delhi team management has reportedly zeroed in on local talent Rishabh Pant, irrespective of his mediocre domestic season with the bat, and Shreyas Iyer. The franchisee, for now not focusing on the big cats like Quinton de Kock and Chris Morris, is keen on retaining big bucks to strengthen its citadel at the action table.

Kings XI Punjab: Coach Virender Sehwag has revealed the strategy of retaining only one player, which may be David Miller, Glenn Maxwell, Axar Patel, Hashim Amla.

Each team can retain a maximum of three players. The list can have all the three Indian capped players or not more than two Indian uncapped or two overseas players.

The teams this season will have a higher purse of Rs 80 crores for player acquisition. This will increase to Rs 82 crores in 2019 and Rs 85 crores in 2020.

ALSO READ: Star Sports to telecast IPL player retention