IPL 2020 : Australian cricket divided on choice between IPL & domestic cricket

Cricket Australia (CA) will have to make one of the biggest decision in the coming months. As the T20 World Cup is on the verge of officially getting postponed, the window in all likelihood will be filled by the 13th season of world’s richest cricket event, Indian Premier League (IPL). CA will have to decide whether to allow their star cricketers to skip the domestic season of the Australian cricket for the sake of IPL 2020 or to allow them to play in the lucrative IPL.

Australian cricket is divided over this debate – with most of the current cricketers in favor of IPL, but the legends of the game have called for blanket ban on the IPL stint this year.

According to Australian pace sensation, Mitchel Starc, Aussie cricketers should be allowed by CA to participate in the IPL 2020. Starc also said, it is a tough decision for the board and CA has to make the choice soon.

“There’s a lot of things that would have to go into that I assume … Cricket Australia would have to clear those guys so if they’re clear to go, I don’t see a problem with it.

“They’re pre-existing contracts and they would have been playing anyway. There’s obviously a different hurdle of domestic cricket there. It’d be an interesting decision, not one I’d have to make, so I’ll let them make their decisions.”

On the contrary, former Australia skipper Ian Chappell and Allan Border has opposed such a move. Chappell has urged CA to keep their players at home in domestic cricket this year instead of allowing them to play in India in IPL 2020. Even former world cup winner Allan Border is also of the same view.

“The top players are looked after very well by Cricket Australia these days, so I think there’s an obligation there,” Chappell told Wide World of Sports.

“I could mount a case more for a peripheral player who doesn’t earn a lot of money in Australia

“But the top players are well paid, and that argument doesn’t hold any water. Their obligation should be to Australia,” he added.

17 Top Australian Cricketers have IPL Contracts

After Indians, Australian cricketers are set to gain the most from the IPL season. Collectively 17 Australian cricketers are set to rake 86.75 Crore (AUD 17.3Mn / USD 11.46Mn) if IPL 2020 season is played.

Pat Cummins has the biggest of all the deals with 15.5Cr contract with Kolkata Knight Riders. With such a huge pay packet waiting to get delivered, Cummins went to the extent of saying that, playing in the world’s best T20 tournament (IPL) has ‘fast-tracked’ his development.

“IPL stints have been really helpful. Rahul Dravid was my coach, I’ve played with Jacques Kallis, Wasim Akram was a bowling coach at Kolkata. You get to spend some time with amazing cricketers and get different insights and at the same time be put in some high-pressure situations.

“Each time I’ve played, I’ve felt like I’ve learnt a lot in those six or seven weeks”, said Cummins in an interview to Australian website.

Former CA board member and one of the Australia’s most successful captain Mark Taylor acknowledged the governing body faces a difficult challenge. According to him CA has to do a ‘juggling act’, they have to keep India happy as the they don’t want any issue with the Indian team’s tour to Australia and on the other hand the governing body has to take care of the domestic cricket.

“It’s an extremely difficult decision CA will have to make, almost a juggling act, it won’t be easy”, said Taylor.

Meanwhile, the schedules for both the re-jigged IPL as well as Australia’s domestic and international seasons are yet to be released – but whenever they are released – in these Covid19 times, clashes and conflicts are bound to rise.

Australians with 2020 IPL deals

Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders), Steve Smith: (Rajasthan Royals), David Warner  (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Glenn  Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab), Nathan Coulter-Nile  (Mumbai Indians), Marcus Stoinis (Delhi Capitals), Aaron Finch (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Kane Richardson (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Shane Watson (Chennai Super Kings), Alex Carey (Delhi Capitals), Mitch Marsh (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Josh Hazlewood (Chennai Super Kings), Chris Lynn (Mumbai Indians), Andrew Tye (Rajasthan Royals), Billy Stanlake (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Chris Green (Kolkata Knight Riders), Josh Philippe (Royal Challengers Bangalore)