IPL 2020 Finals: After hattrick of losses, can DC get 4th time lucky against Mumbai Indians?

Delhi Capitals scripted an emphatic victory against Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2020 Qualifiers 2 to secure their first ever IPL final appearance. However, they will be taking on the toughest contender for the IPL trophy- Mumbai Indians, who are the defending champions and the most successful side in IPL history with a record 4  trophies in the cabinet.

Interestingly, Delhi Capitals have failed to garner a single win against Mumbai Indians, losing all the three matches they have locked horns in the ongoing edition of IPL 2020.

After suffering losses in both the league stage matches; Shreyas Iyer’s army had a chance to make amends when both the teams locked horns in Qualifier 1, but the defending champions stamped their authority after cruising to a comfortable 57 runs win.

Now with DC earning another opportunity at redemption, can they get 4th time lucky against Mumbai Indians?

Let’s recap the three fixtures between Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020.

DC vs MI (Oct-11)

A top of the table clash between the Mumbai Indians and the Delhi Capitals stretched to the last over, but it wasn’t quite the nail-biting thriller that had been expected. Mumbai eased past the Capitals by five wickets, riding on excellent bowling and proactive half-centuries by Quinton de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav. Both de Kock and Yadav made 53 and though each fell somewhat against the run of play, the Capitals – excellent bowling side that they are themselves – did not have enough to defend

Mumbai Indians 166/5 beat Delhi Capitals 162/4 by 5 wickets

MI vs DC (Oct-31)

In their reverse league stage fixture of this edition, the sides locked horns in Dubai on October 31, Saturday. It was a one-sided affair as Mumbai trumped Delhi by a convincing nine-wicket win. Bowling first, Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah ran through DC’s batting line-up with a three-wicket haul each. In response, youngster Ishan Kishan smashed a 47-ball 72 to see his team over the line.

Mumbai Indian 111/1 beat Delhi Capitals 110/9 by 9 wickets.

MI vs DC (Nov-5)

Mumbai Indians once again established themselves as arguably the best T20 outfit in the history of the format after carrying out a clinical decimation of Delhi Capitals by 57 runs in the first qualifier, to set sights on their fifth Indian Premier League title.

Surya Kumar Yadav (51 off 38 balls) laid the platform on which Ishan Kishan (55 not out) and Hardik Pandya (37 no off 14 balls) cashed in to take their team to 200 for 5.

The pressure of scoreboard was writ large on a wobbly Capitals top-order with Trent Boult (2/9 in 2 overs) and Jasprit Bumrah (4/14 in 4 overs) producing a ‘Test match opening spell” to eventually blow out the opposition for 143 for 8.

Mumbai Indians 200/5 beat Delhi Capitals 143/8 by 57 runs