IPL 2020 : Mayank hits 2nd fastest century for India, check top 5 fastest ever in IPL history

Mayank Agarwal has slammed a second fastest hundred by any Indian in the Indian Premier League. Playing against Rajasthan Royals, Agarwal slammed brilliant record breaking 100 to take his team to a total of 223 runs. Agarwal flourished in the company of his Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) captain KL Rahul and went after the Rajasthan Royals (RR) bowlers from ball one. Mayank completed his maiden IPL hundred off 45 balls and his scintillating knock included as many as 9 fours and 7 sixes.
Mayank Agarwal’s hundred was also the second fastest by an Indian in IPL history. Only, Yusuf Pathan (in 37 balls vs Mumbai Indians in 2010) is ahead of Mayank Agarwal in the list

InsideSport.co has compiled the list of fastest Centuries in IPL History. Let’s check the list of TOP 5 Fastest Century hitters in IPL History.

Chris Gayle (2013) – 30 balls – Fastest Ever Century in IPL history

On April 23, 2013 Chris Gayle scored the fastest century ever in the IPL against Pune Warriors off just 30 balls. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, the Gayle storm hit the stadium as the fans witnessed a power hitting masterclass from the left-hander. Without breaking a sweat, Gayle, in that match, mercilessly smacked the Pune bowlers all over the park, eventually finishing with a mind boggling 66-ball 175* — the highest score by a batsman in the IPL and in T20 cricket. During his blitz, Gayle smashed 13 fours and 17 sixes at an astounding strike rate of over 266.
Yusuf Pathan (2010) – 37 balls – 2nd Fastest Century in IPL History
Yusuf Pathan scored 37 ball century for his team Rajasthan Royals in 2010 but still finished on the losing side. Even after scoring a breathtaking ton that came off just 37 balls, an unfortunate run out at the wrong juncture of the chase meant that despite the fantastic effort his team lost the nail-biter.  For three years, Yusuf held the record of the fastest IPL ton, before RCB’s Chris Galye broke it in 2013. Yusuf century was laced with 8 fours and 9 sixes but Royals lost the match by just four runs while in pursuit of the target of 213 set by Mumbai Indians.
David Miller (2013) – 38 balls
The dynamic South African batsman David Miller produced the sensational knock for Kings XI Punjab against the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chasing a daunting 191, Miller came in at no. 5 and produced the T20 knock of his life, hitting a 38-ball ton and winning the game for his team.

Adam Gilchrist (2008) – 42 balls

The Australian legend scored a 42-ball ton for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians on April 27, 2008. Chasing a tricky total of 155, Gilchrist produced a masterclass, leading his team to a phenomenal 10-wicket win. Gilchrist’s knock still stands fourth on the list of fastest centuries scored in the IPL.

AB de Villiers (2016) and David Warner (2017) – 43 balls

Two of the most devastating modern-day greats AB de Villiers and David Warner have been a class apart in the IPL.The most cherished knocks from De Villiers and Warner perhaps were scored in 2016 and 2017 respectively, when they scored a 43-ball century each for their teams. While De Villiers produced the masterclass against Gujarat Lions at their home ground, Warner achieved the feat against Kolkata Knight Riders The two stars jointly stand fifth on the list of fastest centuries in the IPL.
Sanath Jayasuriya (2008) and Mayank Agarwal (2020) – 45 balls
Sanath Jayasuriya scored a 45 ball ton in the opening edition of the league in 2008 for Mumbai Indians against Chennai Super Kings at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Jayasuriya’s knock of 114 included 11 fours and 9 sixes. Rising star and Kings XI Punjab opener Mayank joined the stalwarts of T20 cricket by scoring his maiden IPL ton, blowing away Rajasthan Royals with his stupendous batting performance. His 45-ball sensational century knock was studded with 9 fours and 7 sixes.