IPL 2020: Top 5 captains who have been removed mid-way of IPL season

In a latest development coming out of the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) camp, skipper Dinesh Karthik has decided to hand over captaincy responsibilities to England ODI leader and fellow KKR teammate Eoin Morgan.

In light of this development, let’s have a look at 5 such leading cricketers who gave up captaincy halfway through an IPL season.

Also Read: IPL 2020 MI vs KKR: Dinesh Karthik dropped as captain of KKR, Eoin Morgan to lead

IPL 2020: Karthik hands over KKR captaincy to Eoin Morgan 

Dinesh Karthik decided to step down as captain of Kolkata Knight Riders ahead of the crucial match against Mumbai Indians tonight at Abu Dhabi. The announcement was made by KKR on its official Twitter handle. The captaincy hat has now been handed over to England’s world cup winning captain Eoin Morgan.

The decision, however, does not come as a shocker for many as Karthik’s captaincy had been under a scanner for quite some time. Moreover, due to the pressure, he was not able to perform with the bat too.

In seven games played, the wicket-keeper batsman only managed to score 108 runs. Last year too he could only contribute 253-runs in 14 games which was up to his standards

IPL 2020: Dhawan makes way for Darren Sammy (2014)

In 2014, the Sunrisers Hyderabad announced that they’d ‘relieved’ Shikhar Dhawan of the burden of captaincy and appointed West Indies all-rounder Darren Sammy as the new captain for the rest of the IPL season, hoping that the move will help Dhawan bat more freely. Sammy was included in the side and straight away thrusted into the captaincy role. Dhawan had managed only 215 runs in his first 10 outings as captain.

IPL 2020: Sangakkara drops himself as DC captain (2012)

While leading the Deccan Chargers in the 2012 IPL, Sri Lankan great Kumar Sangakkara was enduring an ordinary run. He not only gave up the captaincy mid-stream but even dropped himself from the playing XI, making way for Australian big-hitter Cameron White to accommodate four overseas players in the XI. However, the move did not yield the desired results as Deccan Chargers could never get going in the tournament.

IPL 2020: Ponting make way for Rohit Sharma (2013)

In 2013, Mumbai Indians began on shaky note when they lost three out of their first six matches. Skipper Ricky Ponting wasn’t in the best of form. The batting great decided to step down and handed over the reins to Rohit Sharma against Kolkata Knight Riders. MI eventually went on to clinch the title under Rohit, even as Ponting kept cheering the team from the sidelines.

IPL 2020: Murali Vijay replaces David Miller (2016)

Struggling at the bottom of the points table in 2016, Kings XI Punjab made a bold move by removing David Miller, who had struggled with both the bat and leadership, as the team’s captain with Murali Vijay, even as they had 10 league matches remaining.
“David Miller continues to be an integral part of the team and is a very strong player of the squad,” KXIP said in a statement. Till that stage, Kings XI had won just one match out of six. Till that point, Miller had only managed to score 76 runs while Vijay had amassed 143.