IPL 2020: Virat Kohli creates history, becomes first Indian batsman to score 9000 runs in T20

virat 9000 runs

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli on Monday added yet another feather in his cap during his fifth game in IPL 2020, against Delhi Capitals at the Dubai International Stadium. The 31-year-old became the first Indian cricketer to amass 9000 runs in T20 cricket.

Kohli, who had made his T20 debut in 2007, has only played for three teams. He has represented Team India, RCB and Delhi in the shortest format. The Indian skipper has 2794 runs for Team India at the international level and 5544* runs for RCB.

Overall, Virat becomes the seventh batsman to achieve this milestone.

The list of most runs in T20 cricket is topped by Chris Gayle. The Universe Boss has 13296 runs in 404 matches. Gayle has represented at least 15 teams across the various leagues in different competitions around the globe. He doesn’t play for West Indies now.

Gayle is followed by his countryman Kieron Pollard, the second batsman with over 10,000 runs. The West Indies’ all-rounder has scored 10370 runs while playing for number of teams. Shoaib Malik (9926), Brendon McCullum (9922), David Warner (9451) and Aaron Finch (9148) sit above the Indian skipper.

Interestingly, Kohli is followed by his white-ball deputy, Rohit Sharma, on the list. The Mumbai Indians skipper has scored 8818 runs in 333 T20s. Suresh Raina (8392 T20 runs) is third Indian batsman with over 8000 runs in this format.