IPL 2021 Auction SRH strategy: Sunrisers Hyderabad Retained Players, Released Players List in IPL 2021 All you need to know

IPL 2021 Auction SRH strategy: Sunrisers Hyderabad Retained Players, Released Players List in IPL 2021 All you need to know: Sunrisers Hyderabad is one of the most consistent and underrated teams in the IPL. Over the last five years, they have won one IPL trophy, reached the Finals twice, and qualified for the playoffs every single time. However, they went through troubled seas before entering the IPL 2020 play-offs where their campaign ended in the Qualifier 2 with a loss against Delhi Capitals.

Also Read: IPL New Team: BCCI official to InsideSport, ‘base price for new IPL teams nothing less than 1500 Cr’

At various stages they lost key men like Mitchell Marsh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Vijay Shankar to injuries, forcing them to revisit game plans more often than other teams and now they will aim to rejig themselves in the IPL 2021-mini auction.

Here’s all you need to know about SRH’s strategy in IPL 2021 mini-auctions:

SRH IPL 2020 Squad: Kane Williamson, David Warner, Manish Pandey, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sanjay Yadav, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Bavanaka Sandeep, Basil Thampi

David Warner: SRH Skipper David Warner, once again, proved that he’s one of the deadliest batsmen in T20 cricket. He’s now scored at least 500 runs in each of the last 6 seasons. He is certain to remain with SRH in IPL 2021.

Rashid Khan: Over the years, SRH have been the most consistent bowling unit, and the credit largely goes to the sheer-brilliance of Afghan spinner, Rashid Khan. He’s bagged 71 wickets with a brilliant economy of 6.25, since joining SRH in 2017.

Kane Williamson: New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson completes this star-studded retention pack. Williamson, over the years, has been one of the most reliable middle-order batsmen. His constant presence at no. 3 or 4 has been a blessing for SRH, especially the skipper, as Williamson makes Warner’s job a bit much easier, having captained SRH in the absence of the Australian.

Other players who are certain to be retained: T Natarajan, Jason Holder, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha

Players who are likely to be retained in IPL 2021 as per InsideSport assumption:

Priyam Garg, Manish Pandey, Abdul Samad, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma

Players who will be definitely shown exit door in IPL 2021 as per InsideSport assumption:

Billy Stanlake: Billy Stanlake was surplus to Sunrisers Hyderabad’s requirement in IPL 2020 and failed to make the cut for even a single game. Stanlake has now played only 4 matches in the last two seasons and has 5 wickets to his name. After Jason Holder and T Natarajan’s inclusion in the squad, Stanlake is certain to be released ahead of the new season.

Mitchell Marsh: Mitchell Marsh was their first-choice overseas all-rounder for IPL 2020 but unfortunately, he got injured in the first game and was ruled out of the whole tournament. Jason Holder came in as his replacement and what a replacement he was.

He contributed in all the departments as he is bagged wickets at the start, in the death overs. He also scored crucial runs while taking catches in the outfield. His performances are one of the reasons for their strong comeback in the second half of the tournament. SRH will release Mitchell Marsh and keep Jason Holder for the next season as well.

Siddarth Kaul: After Bhuvneshwar Kumar was ruled out of the tournament, SRH had a number of options to replace the senior pacer within their own squad. One of them was Siddarth Kaul. However, the 30-year-old pacer failed to deliver. He managed to play only one game in IPL 2020 and was dropped after conceding 64 runs in his 4 overs against Mumbai Indians – one of the most expensive spells by any bowler in IPL history. SRH has already found a great death bowler in T Natarajan and now they will want to get rid of Kaul.


Other players who will be shown exit door: Sanjay Yadav, Shreevats Goswami, Bavanaka Sandeep,