IPL 2021 Big Record: Six-o-meter in IPL 2021 on overdrive, record 67 sixes hit in first 4 matches of IPL 2021

IPL 2021: With 67 sixes, IPL 2021 creates the record of most sixes hit in first four matches; Sanju Samson, KL Rahul

IPL 2021 Big Record: The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League may have just seen four matches but already the six-o-meter has been on overdrive. IPL 2021 has seen 67 sixes been hit in the first four matches with Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson smashing 7 of them while Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul hitting 5 of them in their match on Monday. The number is also a record for sixes in just four matches in any IPL edition since it began in 2008.

Out of the 67 sixes, 24 of them were hit in one match alone. The Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings match saw 24 sixes being hit with Sanju Samson (7), KL Rahul (5) and Deepak Hooda (6) smashing 18 of them combined.

In the process, IPL 2021 also eclipsed the record of IPL 2017 most sixes in first four matches. In IPL 2017, the first four matches saw 64 sixes getting hit. IPL 2020 came close to breaking the record but fell four sixes short as batsmen smashed 61 sixes in the four games with the 3rd match between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings witnessing 33 maximums alone.

Also Read: KKR vs MI LIVE Score in IPL 2021: Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and have opted to field, Follow LIVE Updates

In the list of the number of sixes hit, Sanju Samson occupies the top spot, followed by PBKS’ Deepak Hooda and KL Rahul.

However, the all-time record goes to none other than Universe Boss Chris Gayle. On Monday, with two sixes against Rajasthan Royals, he completed 350 sixes in IPL. His record is something that will remain unbroken for some time as the next on the list is AB de Villers who has 237 maximums, followed by MS Dhoni (216), Rohit Sharma (214) and Virat Kohli (201).

Also Read: KKR vs MI in IPL 2021: Can Eoin Morgan’s Kolkata solve the Mumbai Indians puzzle at Chepauk?

Number of sixes hit in the first four matches in IPL:

IPL 2008: 56
IPL 2009: 35
IPL 2010: 25
IPL 2011: 30
IPL 2012: 25
IPL 2013: 25
IPL 2014: 38
IPL 2015: 52
IPL 2016: 43
IPL 2017: 64
IPL 2018: 48
IPL 2019: 48
IPL 2020: 61

Most Number of sixes hit in an innings: Chris Gayle tops the list here as well with 17 of them hit en route his 175 against Pune Warriors India in IPL 2013. Brandon McCullum with 13 comes next. His 13 sixes against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural match of the IPL 2008.

Also Read: IPL 2021- PBKS vs RR: Chris Gayle completes 350 sixes in IPL, first to reach the milestone

Total number of sixes so far: 67

Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore: 10
Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals: 15
Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders: 18
Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings: 24