IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni seeks blessings of Maa Deori ahead of IPL 2021

IPL 2021 – CSK MS Dhoni: The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2021) is now just few weeks away and MS Dhoni is looking to change fortunes of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) this time after disappointing IPL 2020. Former Indian captain visited Maa Deori temple to seek blessings before the IPL 2021. 

The former India captain, who is currently in his hometown Ranchi, is a frequent visitor to the shrine. Every time before any important tournament or any special event in his life Dhoni visits Maa DEORI temple. This time too before IPL 2021, Dhoni decided to visit the temple. 

Dhoni visited the temple with his childhood friend Simat Lohani aka Chittu, as per a report in Telegraph. There was heavy security deployment in the area to facilitate Dhoni’s visit. 
“We were aware of his visit in advance and administration was in the loop. An hour before he was to come, local police deployed additional security personnel to avoid any chaos at the temple. No matter whether he plays or not, he continues to be the biggest crowd puller,” a priest was quoted by Telegraphindia.
Dhoni’s plans for IPL 2021: The 39-year-old Dhoni did not take part in the domestic events – Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy for Jharkhand due to some prior commitments. However, he will return to lead three-time champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2021 this year

Dhoni had a poor run in the IPL 2020 both as a captain and batsman. He scored 200 runs in 14 matches at an ordinary average of 25. Dhoni’s strike-rate of 116.27 also came under the scrutiny. Chennai Super Kings, who finished seventh last season, strengthened their squad for the upcoming edition by roping the likes of Moeen Ali, Krishnappa Gowtham, and Cheteshwar Pujara among others at the auction.

Chennai Super Kings Squad for IPL 2021: 
CSK retained players – MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, Faf Du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sam Curran, Ravi Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Josh Hazlewood, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, KM Asif, Imran Tahir, R. Sai Kishore, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi.
Players Bought at IPL Auctions — Moeen Ali, Krishnappa Gowtham, Harisankar Reddy, Bhagvath Varma and Cheteshwar Pujara